Board index FlightGear Development

What format?

FlightGear is opensource, so you can be the developer. In the need for help on anything? We are here to help you.
Forum rules
Core development is discussed on the official FlightGear-Devel development mailing list.

Bugs can be reported in the bug tracker.

What format?

Postby thezerda » Fri May 10, 2013 10:22 am

Hello all;

New here. Probably this question has been asked before but: I use 3DS Max for modeling. What export format should I use for 3D objects (planes, trucks, buildings....). Which format do I have to get to put in ingame; and where to download the tools for doing so?

Thank you
thezerda
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 10:15 am

Re: What format?

Postby Michat » Fri May 10, 2013 2:20 pm

Hi, welcome here.

The format that FG use is ac3. FlightGear modelers work with blender and ac3d. I know that they have scripts to convert to that format. So it seems studiomax is not used because it's privative license. You can find a lot of info in our wiki, and if you have any question you can post here, also you can use IRC to get help online.

I hope you get fun in FlightGear, looking forward for your shared models and ideas.
User avatar
Michat
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:24 pm
Location: Spain
Version: 191b
OS: GNewSense


Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest