Board index FlightGear Support

FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multiccore ?

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

Please report any bugs not specific to an aircraft on the issue tracker.
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby Curious » Fri May 22, 2020 7:55 am

stuart wrote in Fri May 22, 2020 7:29 am:Hi Curious,

One of FlightGears less well-known features is its excellent support for multiple graphics cards and monitors. If you install _additional_ graphics cards you should see better performance on a multi-screen setup, though it may take a bit of setting up and configuration. Isaak had a monster machine at FSWeekend 2018 which I think was running 4 graphics cards, each with one or two displays attached.

I'm not sure if you'd see substantial improvements if _replace_ your GTX1060 with 3GB or memory with one with 6GB of memory or a GTX1080. I think the key thing is whether you're using all your VRAM ?


How would I tell if I'm using all the VRAM ?

I'm not running FG in multiple monitors yet. We'll see how things go in the future.

BTW, thanks to all that replied to my thread ! I really appreciate getting this figured out tonight.
Curious
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:32 pm

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby stuart » Fri May 22, 2020 8:37 am

On Linux with the Nvidia drivers I have an nvidia-settings program which lists under the GPU the "used dedicated memory". Simply keep an eye on that when you're running FlightGear.

-Stuart
G-MWLX
User avatar
stuart
Moderator
 
Posts: 1555
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:56 am
Location: Edinburgh
Callsign: G-MWLX

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby Hooray » Fri May 22, 2020 9:18 am

Note that vram/resource tracking functionality can also be easily added to FlightGear, we did that already a couple of years ago when some new features caused a ton of swapping (patches included):

http://wiki.flightgear.org/Resource_Tra ... FlightGear
Image

Image
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11836
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby Curious » Fri May 22, 2020 9:25 pm

FYI, KDE in F32 has a very nice widget called CPU Load Monitor that shows the total CPU load as well as each thread load.
Curious
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:32 pm

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby stuart » Sun May 24, 2020 1:39 pm

I've split the off-topic discussion into a different topic: https://forum.flightgear.org/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=37497
G-MWLX
User avatar
stuart
Moderator
 
Posts: 1555
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:56 am
Location: Edinburgh
Callsign: G-MWLX

Previous

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: YandexBot [Bot] and 1 guest