Board index FlightGear Support

FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multiccore ?

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

Please report any bugs not specific to an aircraft on the issue tracker.
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multiccore ?

Postby Curious » Fri May 22, 2020 2:19 am

Flight Gear is using 90+% of one core on my system. It also freezes for a bit once in a while.

How do I reduce this or spread the load over more cores ?

dnf list flightgear\*
Installed Packages
FlightGear.x86_64 2019.1.1-6.fc32 @fedora
FlightGear-Atlas.x86_64 0.5.0-0.55.cvs20141002.fc32 @fedora
FlightGear-data.noarch 2019.1.1-2.fc32

$ uname -a
Linux bigboy 5.6.13-300.fc32.x86_64 #1 SMP Thu May 14 22:51:37 UTC 2020 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Machine
AMD 3600X 64 GB RAM @ 3600 MHz GTX 1060 (3GB) 4K monitor X570 MB NVME SSD.
Running latest nouveau driver.

Will switching to the nVidia driver make a difference ? How about enabling VDPAU ?

Thanks
Curious
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:32 pm

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby V12 » Fri May 22, 2020 4:14 am

FG can't use more than 2 CPU cores. In default, it run only on 1 core. If You add into settings tab
Code: Select all
--prop:/sim/rendering/multithreading-mode=AutomaticSelection

FG will use 2 cores.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2034
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby Curious » Fri May 22, 2020 4:34 am

Thanks for the reply.

According to top, It still appears to be using only 1 core.

Am I invoking it wrong ?

Code: Select all
$ fgfs-wrapper --launcher --prop:/sim/rendering/multithreading-mode=AutomaticSelection
    0.00 [INFO]:general    FlightGear:  Version 2019.1.1
    0.00 [INFO]:general    FlightGear:  Build Type Dev
    0.00 [INFO]:general    Built with GNU C++ version 10.0
    0.00 [INFO]:general    Jenkins number/ID 0:none
    0.04 [WARN]:gui        Failed to load default (en) translations
    0.04 [INFO]:general    platform default fg_root = Path "/usr/share/flightgear"
    0.04 [INFO]:general    Reading global defaults
    0.06 [INFO]:input      Reading user settings from Path "/home/me/.fgfs/autosave_2019_1.xml"
    0.06 [INFO]:navaid     NavCache at:Path "/home/me/.fgfs/navdata_2019_1.cache"
    0.06 [INFO]:navaid     NavCache read-only flags is:0
    0.06 [INFO]:navaid     NavCache: no main cache rebuild required
    0.06 [INFO]:general    init package root at:Path "/home/me/.fgfs/Aircraft"
    0.08 [INFO]:general    catalog at:Path "/home/me/.fgfs/Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon" failed version check: app version: 2019.1.1
    0.09 [INFO]:general    disabling catalog:org.flightgear.fgaddon
    0.10 [INFO]:general    catalog at:Path "/home/me/.fgfs/Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon.stable_2018" failed version check: app version: 2019.1.1
    0.10 [INFO]:general    disabling catalog:org.flightgear.fgaddon.stable_2018
    1.57 [WARN]:general    downloaded catalog http://mirrors.ibiblio.org/flightgear/ftp/Aircraft-2018/catalog.xml, but app version 2019.1.1 is not comaptible
    1.57 [WARN]:gui        failed refresh of "http://mirrors.ibiblio.org/flightgear/ftp/Aircraft-2018/catalog.xml" : 7

    3.48 [WARN]:general    downloaded catalog http://mirrors.ibiblio.org/flightgear/ftp/Aircraft/catalog.xml, but app version 2019.1.1 is not comaptible
    3.48 [WARN]:gui        failed refresh of "http://mirrors.ibiblio.org/flightgear/ftp/Aircraft/catalog.xml" : 7

   60.14 [INFO]:input      aircraft = org.flightgear.fgaddon.trunk.dg101g
   60.14 [INFO]:general    Loading aircraft from package:org.flightgear.fgaddon.trunk.dg101g
   60.14 [INFO]:general    found aircraft in dir: /home/me/.fgfs/Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon.trunk/Aircraft/DG-101G
   60.14 [POPU]:aircraft   Aircraft does not specify a minimum FG version: please add one at /sim/minimum-fg-version
   60.14 [INFO]:general    Found language resource for: en_US
   60.14 [INFO]:general    Reading localized strings for 'en' from Path "/usr/share/flightgear/Translations/default/sys.xml"
   60.14 [INFO]:general    Reading localized strings for 'en' from Path "/usr/share/flightgear/Translations/default/atc.xml"
   60.14 [INFO]:general    Reading localized strings for 'en' from Path "/usr/share/flightgear/Translations/default/tips.xml"
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:prop = /nasal/local_weather/enabled=false
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:metar = XXXX 012345Z 15003KT 19SM FEW072 FEW350 25/07 Q1028 NOSIG
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:prop = /environment/weather-scenario=Core high pressure region
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:disable-rembrandt =
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:disable-terrasync =
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:enable-freeze =
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:aircraft = org.flightgear.fgaddon.trunk.dg101g
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:prop = /sim/presets/navaid-id=25018
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:offset-azimuth = -90
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:offset-distance = 1
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:altitude = 2000
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:vc = 100
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:launcher =
   60.14 [INFO]:general         option:prop = /sim/rendering/multithreading-mode=AutomaticSelection
   60.14 [INFO]:general    Using default download dir: Path "/home/me/.fgfs"
   60.14 [WARN]:general    read-allowed path not found:Path "/home/me/.fgfs/AI"
   60.14 [WARN]:general    read-allowed path not found:Path "/home/me/.fgfs/Liveries"
   60.14 [INFO]:general    Using default texture cache directory: Path "/home/me/.fgfs/TextureCache"
   60.14 [INFO]:general    Using TerraSync dir: Path "/home/me/.fgfs/TerraSync"
   60.14 [INFO]:general    EmbeddedResourceManager: selected locale 'en_US'
   60.14 [INFO]:opengl     Using stock OSG implementation of GraphicsWindow
StatsHandler::StatsHandler() Setting up GL2 compatible shaders
   60.15 [INFO]:astro      initializing cloud layers
Now checking for plug-in osgPlugins-3.4.1/osgdb_nvtt.so
   60.78 [WARN]:general    Enabling ATI/AMD viewport hack
   60.78 [INFO]:general    Configuration State
   60.78 [INFO]:general    ============= =====
   60.78 [INFO]:general    aircraft-dir = "/home/me/.fgfs/Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon.trunk/Aircraft/DG-101G"
   60.78 [INFO]:general    fghome-dir = "Path "/home/me/.fgfs""
   60.78 [INFO]:general    download-dir = "/home/me/.fgfs"
   60.78 [INFO]:general    terrasync-dir = "/home/me/.fgfs/TerraSync"
   60.78 [INFO]:general    aircraft-search-paths =
        /home/me/.fgfs/Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon.trunk
   60.78 [INFO]:general    scenery-search-paths =
        /home/me/.fgfs/TerraSync
        /usr/share/flightgear/Scenery
   60.81 [INFO]:general    nouveau
   60.81 [INFO]:general    NV136
   60.81 [INFO]:general    4.3 (Compatibility Profile) Mesa 20.0.7
   60.81 [INFO]:general    4.30
   60.86 [INFO]:view       Splash screen progress loading-aircraft-list
   60.86 [INFO]:view       Splash screen progress loading-nav-dat
   60.87 [INFO]:view       Splash screen progress init-scenery
   60.88 [INFO]:general    General Initialization
   60.88 [INFO]:general    ======= ==============
   60.88 [INFO]:general    FG_ROOT = "Path "/usr/share/flightgear""

   60.90 [INFO]:general    Attempting to set starting position for PHNL:04L
   60.90 [INFO]:event      Reading timezone info from: Path "/usr/share/flightgear/Timezone/zone.tab"
   60.91 [INFO]:terrain    Selected scenery is tilecache
   60.91 [INFO]:terrain    FGStgTerrain::init - init tilemgr
   60.91 [INFO]:terrain    Initializing Tile Manager subsystem.
   60.91 [INFO]:terrain    Initializing the tile cache.
   60.91 [INFO]:terrain      max cache size = 100
   60.91 [INFO]:terrain      current cache size = 0
   60.91 [INFO]:terrain      done with init()
   60.91 [INFO]:view       Splash screen progress finalize-position
   60.95 [INFO]:view       Splash screen progress creating-subsystems
   60.96 [INFO]:general    Creating Subsystems
   60.96 [INFO]:general    ======== ==========
   60.96 [INFO]:input      Reading materials from /usr/share/flightgear/Materials/regions/materials.xml
   61.64 [WARN]:general    adding subsystem to group with name 'terrainsampler', but name() returns 'TerrainSampler'
   61.64 [WARN]:general    adding subsystem to group with name 'environment', but name() returns 'FGEnvironmentMgr'
   61.64 [INFO]:systems    Reading systems from Path "/usr/share/flightgear/Aircraft/Generic/generic-systems.xml"
   61.64 [WARN]:general    adding subsystem to group with name 'systems', but name() returns 'FGSystemMgr'
   61.64 [WARN]:general    adding subsystem to group with name 'instrumentation', but name() returns 'FGInstrumentMgr'
   61.64 [INFO]:cockpit    Initializing HUD Instrument
   61.64 [WARN]:general    adding subsystem to group with name 'cockpit-displays', but name() returns 'CockpitDisplayManager'
   61.64 [WARN]:general    adding subsystem to group with name 'xml-autopilot', but name() returns 'FGXMLAutopilotGroup'
   61.64 [WARN]:general    adding subsystem to group with name 'xml-proprules', but name() returns 'FGXMLAutopilotGroup'
   61.64 [WARN]:general    adding subsystem to group with name 'input', but name() returns 'FGInput'
   61.64 [WARN]:general    adding subsystem to group with name 'events', but name() returns 'EventMgr'
   61.64 [INFO]:sound      Reading sound sound from Path "/home/me/.fgfs/Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon.trunk/Aircraft/DG-101G/dg101g_sound.xml"
   61.64 [INFO]:general    Creating subsystems took:685
   61.64 [INFO]:view       Splash screen progress binding-subsystems
Throttle 0 does not exist! 0 engines exist, but throttle setting for engine 0 is selected
AL lib: (WW) alcSetError: Error generated on device (nil), code 0xa004
   62.96 [ALRT]:sound      Error: Audio device not available, trying default.
   62.97 [ALRT]:sound      ALC Error (sound manager): Invalid Value at context creation.
   63.04 [ALRT]:nasal      Volcanic activity off.
   64.36 [INFO]:OSG       
   64.36 [WARN]:OSG        PNG lib warning : Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
  Sorry, udot doesn't appear to be trimmable
  Trim Results:
       Angle of Attack:   -3.1  wdot: -4.93e+01 Tolerance: 1e-03  Failed
              Throttle:    0.5  udot: -4.60e+00 Tolerance: 1e-03  Failed
            Pitch Trim:   0.15  qdot:  4.33e-01 Tolerance: 1e-04  Failed
            Roll Angle:  -0.12  vdot:  6.70e-02 Tolerance: 1e-03  Failed
              Ailerons: 2.6e-06  pdot: -1.33e-09 Tolerance: 1e-04  Passed
                Rudder:  4e-05  rdot:  3.13e-10 Tolerance: 1e-04  Passed

  Trim Statistics:
    Total Iterations: 4
    Sub-iterations:
    wdot: 11 average: 2.75  successful:  1  stability: 2
    udot: 0 average: 0  successful:  0  stability: 2
    qdot: 10 average: 2.5  successful:  4  stability: 2
    vdot: 8 average: 2  successful:  4  stability: 2
    pdot: 6 average: 1.5  successful:  4  stability: 2
    rdot: 6 average: 1.5  successful:  4  stability: 2
    Run Count: 184
Throttle 0 does not exist! 0 engines exist, but throttle setting for engine 0 is selected
   69.65 [ALRT]:nasal      setWeight() - not supported for jsb
  104.63 [WARN]:OSG        osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
  104.66 [WARN]:OSG        osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
  104.66 [WARN]:OSG        osgDB ac3d reader: detected surface with less than 3 vertices!
  107.15 [WARN]:OSG        PNG lib warning : iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
  107.16 [WARN]:OSG        PNG lib warning : iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
Last edited by Johan G on Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added [code] tags. They can be added manually or with the [^_ ] button above the text editing box.
Curious
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:32 pm

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby V12 » Fri May 22, 2020 5:36 am

Replace AutomaticSelection with CullDrawThreadPerContext or DrawThreadPerContext or CullThreadPerCameraDrawThreadPerContext. This parameter put into Settings tab in launcher :

Image
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2034
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby stuart » Fri May 22, 2020 5:44 am

While it will have no impact on the number of cores being used for graphics processing, using nVidia drivers may improve framerates, which is probably what you want :)

-Stuart
G-MWLX
User avatar
stuart
Moderator
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:56 am
Location: Edinburgh
Callsign: G-MWLX

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby Curious » Fri May 22, 2020 6:01 am

stuart wrote in Fri May 22, 2020 5:44 am:While it will have no impact on the number of cores being used for graphics processing, using nVidia drivers may improve framerates, which is probably what you want :)


Does using the Nvidia drive decrease the CPU load ? Because right now the load on the core being used is nearly 100%.
Curious
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:32 pm

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby V12 » Fri May 22, 2020 6:09 am

OpenSource nVidia driver Nouveau is piece of the crap. If You can, use proprietaly nVidia driver, it is faaaar better than Nouveau.
In any case, I reccommend use --prop:/sim/rendering/multithreading-mode=CullThreadPerCameraDrawThreadPerContext, with AutomaticSelection I had large trouble with storms, terrasync scenery stopped download terrain tiles, this mode solved it. For more info check viewtopic.php?p=350624#p350624
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2034
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby Curious » Fri May 22, 2020 6:09 am

V12 wrote in Fri May 22, 2020 5:36 am:Replace AutomaticSelection with CullDrawThreadPerContext or DrawThreadPerContext or CullThreadPerCameraDrawThreadPerContext.]


None of those resulted in more than 1 core being used.
Curious
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:32 pm

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby D-ECHO » Fri May 22, 2020 6:17 am

What method do you use to see the numbers of cores used?
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby Curious » Fri May 22, 2020 6:18 am

V12 wrote in Fri May 22, 2020 6:09 am:OpenSource nVidia driver Nouveau is piece of the crap. If You can, use proprietaly nVidia driver, it is faaaar better than Nouveau.
In any case, I reccommend use --prop:/sim/rendering/multithreading-mode=CullThreadPerCameraDrawThreadPerContext, with AutomaticSelection I had large trouble with storms, terrasync scenery stopped download terrain tiles, this mode solved it. For more info check viewtopic.php?p=350624#p350624


Thanks for the tip.
Yes, I agree Nouveau is a poor performer.
https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page= ... 2018&num=3
I'm having an issue getting it installed correctly on my machine. I should have that rectified shortly.
Curious
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:32 pm

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby Curious » Fri May 22, 2020 6:21 am

D-ECHO wrote in Fri May 22, 2020 6:17 am:What method do you use to see the numbers of cores used?

$top. If you press 1 it shows the idle time of the CPUs.

I only ever see one fgfs process in the PID list.
Curious
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:32 pm

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby D-ECHO » Fri May 22, 2020 6:26 am

FG can show up only once in top and still be using multiple threads, unlike e.g. Seen with XPlane.
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby Curious » Fri May 22, 2020 7:14 am

Good news !

I got the nvidia driver working (kmod-nvidia-5.6.13-300.fc32.x86_64.x86_64 3:440.82-1.fc32) and my CPU load went from 90-120% to barely getting over 30%. Huge difference. The nouveau driver must force the CPU to do a bunch of calculations that get handled by the GPU when the Nvidia driver is used.

I wonder how much more responsive my system would be if I had a GTX1060 with 6GB of GPU RAM or a GTX1080 ? I'm running dual monitors, a 4K monitor plus a 1920x1080 beside it.
Curious
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:32 pm

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby stuart » Fri May 22, 2020 7:29 am

Hi Curious,

One of FlightGears less well-known features is its excellent support for multiple graphics cards and monitors. If you install _additional_ graphics cards you should see better performance on a multi-screen setup, though it may take a bit of setting up and configuration. Isaak had a monster machine at FSWeekend 2018 which I think was running 4 graphics cards, each with one or two displays attached.

I'm not sure if you'd see substantial improvements if _replace_ your GTX1060 with 3GB or memory with one with 6GB of memory or a GTX1080. I think the key thing is whether you're using all your VRAM ?

-Stuart
G-MWLX
User avatar
stuart
Moderator
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:56 am
Location: Edinburgh
Callsign: G-MWLX

Re: FG using 90%+ on 3600X, GTX1060, 64GB RAM... ? Multicco

Postby Curious » Fri May 22, 2020 7:52 am

If you run $atop, each shows the system and user load in each thread, as well as the total system and user load.

My 3600X has 6 cores, 12 threads. I guess the total load will go up to 1200% ?

I am really happy with how my system performs now that I have the nvidia driver running. It still stutters a tiny bit once in a while, but 95% of the time it is buttery smooth. The CPU load is low in the fgfs thread and almX ost zero in the other threads. There is a ton of RAM available. I wonder why it stutters ? GPU card running out of memory and having to swap ?

By the way, I tried running FG with an i7-5775 in a Gigabyte Brix Pro with an integrated Intel GPU a while back. Performance was pretty poor. It was a dual core processor and it was operating at 100% almost all the time.

The 3600X is now loafing while running FG. I wanted to get a 3900X (12 threads/24 cores) or a 3950X (16 cores/32 threads) but 75% of the time my 3600X is just loafing along. So why do I need more cores ? I do have a big development and simulation project coming up... we'll see how it holds up to that.

FWIW, Ryzen 4000, based on Zen3 is coming out in September, 2020. Zen 3 is supposed to be 15-20% faster based on IPC alone. Plus faster memory access, and a faster clock. Should be incredible.
Curious
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:32 pm

Next

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: D-ECHO and 1 guest