Board index FlightGear Support

Adding ILS to an Airport

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

Please report any bugs not specific to an aircraft on the issue tracker.
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Adding ILS to an Airport

Postby Marsdolphin » Sun Mar 01, 2020 6:11 am

Hi everyone,

I am trying to add ILS to an airport, with no success.
Anyone know how to add ILS to an airport?

Best regards,
Mars.
Find me in Multiplayer as "Mars006". I fly all around the world, but I usually hang out in ZBAA and the surrounding airports.
Everyone be safe and let's hope the pandemic can be over soon.
Have fun flying!
Marsdolphin
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 7:41 am
Location: Beijing, China (ZBAA)
Callsign: Mars006, mars006
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: Mac OS

Re: Adding ILS to an Airport

Postby SurferTim » Tue Mar 03, 2020 4:24 pm

Marsdolphin wrote in Sun Mar 01, 2020 6:11 am:Hi everyone,

I am trying to add ILS to an airport, with no success.
Anyone know how to add ILS to an airport?

Best regards,
Mars.

Didn't see this right away. I do, and can. Which airport?
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter DHC6-300+. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Adding ILS to an Airport

Postby Marsdolphin » Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:05 am

Hi,
Ummm...
The airport is: ZBAD Beijing Daxing
Regards,
Mars.
Find me in Multiplayer as "Mars006". I fly all around the world, but I usually hang out in ZBAA and the surrounding airports.
Everyone be safe and let's hope the pandemic can be over soon.
Have fun flying!
Marsdolphin
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 7:41 am
Location: Beijing, China (ZBAA)
Callsign: Mars006, mars006
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: Mac OS

Re: Adding ILS to an Airport

Postby SurferTim » Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:24 am

It's late here, but I'll take a look in the morning. I have the approach charts for it.
Does this look about right?
https://yinlei.org/x-plane10/doc/ZBAD.pdf
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter DHC6-300+. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Adding ILS to an Airport

Postby Marsdolphin » Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:26 am

Yeah it's that one.
Thanks for helping!
Find me in Multiplayer as "Mars006". I fly all around the world, but I usually hang out in ZBAA and the surrounding airports.
Everyone be safe and let's hope the pandemic can be over soon.
Have fun flying!
Marsdolphin
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 7:41 am
Location: Beijing, China (ZBAA)
Callsign: Mars006, mars006
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: Mac OS

Re: Adding ILS to an Airport

Postby SurferTim » Wed Mar 04, 2020 9:28 am

I can't find the airport in the FG airport database to add the ILS. Is there something I should know?
ZBAD doesn't show up on a search of locations.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter DHC6-300+. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Adding ILS to an Airport

Postby Marsdolphin » Wed Mar 04, 2020 9:53 am

Hi,
Transferred to PM.
Regards,
Mars,
Find me in Multiplayer as "Mars006". I fly all around the world, but I usually hang out in ZBAA and the surrounding airports.
Everyone be safe and let's hope the pandemic can be over soon.
Have fun flying!
Marsdolphin
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 7:41 am
Location: Beijing, China (ZBAA)
Callsign: Mars006, mars006
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: Mac OS

Re: Adding ILS to an Airport

Postby SurferTim » Wed Mar 04, 2020 9:57 am

Here is the deal. There must be an airport (apt) entry to add the ILS (nav).
When installing an ILS, the database will check the airport data to ensure there is a runway with that number. If not, no ILS.
I must have the custom scenery to install an ILS.

Edit: A member asked how I tested them. Here is how. This is my test of a Barcelona ILS.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter DHC6-300+. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Adding ILS to an Airport

Postby sidi762 » Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:34 pm

Hi Mars and SuferTim,

I'm not sure about how the ILS work, but after I updated the apt.dat I found that the ILS was placed properly now.

Update file: https://www.fgprc.org/tmp/ZBAD_TEST_beta%200.14.0.zip

Kind regards,
Sidi
sidi762
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 8:15 am
Location: Beijing, China
Callsign: DAG0762
Version: 2018.3.4
OS: MacOS Mojave

Re: Adding ILS to an Airport

Postby Marsdolphin » Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:56 pm

Hi Sidi,
Testing started. See PM.
Regards,
Mars.
Find me in Multiplayer as "Mars006". I fly all around the world, but I usually hang out in ZBAA and the surrounding airports.
Everyone be safe and let's hope the pandemic can be over soon.
Have fun flying!
Marsdolphin
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 7:41 am
Location: Beijing, China (ZBAA)
Callsign: Mars006, mars006
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: Mac OS

Re: Adding ILS to an Airport

Postby SurferTim » Wed Mar 04, 2020 2:37 pm

Good deal. Saved me some effort.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter DHC6-300+. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest