Board index FlightGear Support

Why would my Aircraft Menu in the Launcher be blank (just a

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Why would my Aircraft Menu in the Launcher be blank (just a

Postby SarangBhai » Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:06 pm

For some reason the usual list of aircraft you can download is missing. I grabbed Flightgear from the elementary os appcenter which i think is just the Ubuntu app store or something to that effect. Is there a way get this to work without manually trying to install the planes? Thanks for anything!
Last edited by SarangBhai on Tue Sep 10, 2019 7:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
SarangBhai
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:04 pm

Re: Why would my Aircraft Menu in the Launcher be blank (jus

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Sep 07, 2019 5:44 pm

please fix your subject line by adding the truncated part to your post body...

we also need to know:
  • which ubuntu you are running,
  • the complete version of your flightgear,
  • your video card(s),
  • which video drivers your ubuntu is using,
  • is this a laptop or regular PC,
  • and it would be nice to have a screen shot showing us the problem.
that should at least get us started in trying to solve your problem...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5572
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Why would my Aircraft Menu in the Launcher be blank (jus

Postby Parnikkapore » Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:27 pm

Which Elementary version are you running?

For your question, there should be a link telling you to "download the default hangar" in the Add-ons tab. Click that.
There are free alternatives to every program you encounter. You just have to find them.
Parnikkapore
 
Posts: 814
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:16 am
Callsign: HS-FGS
Version: next [PPA]
OS: Mint 18


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Applebot [Bot] and 11 guests