Board index FlightGear Support

Flight gear 2.6 only opens C172

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Flight gear 2.6 only opens C172

Postby aditya_vys98 » Thu May 09, 2019 8:19 am

I have installed Flight gear v2.6 and when I try to run the thing, it gives me the option of planes to select from,
if i select any plane and then select an airport, it would open c172 for flying.

for eg.
if i select 777-200 select an airport lets say KSFO and then select preferences like full screen
it would open C172 in a restored(small) screen.

i have tried re-installing it, I have poked around every setting possible can somebody please help me with this.
aditya_vys98
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 8:10 am

Re: Flight gear 2.6 only opens C172

Postby WoodSTokk » Thu May 09, 2019 8:31 am

Version 2.6 is very old.
Please go to http://home.flightgear.org/download/ and download the latest stable (2018.3.2).
Or wait few days, until the new stable release (2019.x) comes out.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: Flight gear 2.6 only opens C172

Postby aditya_vys98 » Thu May 09, 2019 10:49 am

my system is pretty old to run the latest version smoothly but still i tried installing the 3.2 version that you mentioned but when i open it it only shows me cessana 172 as an option is this how it is by default that when you install 3.2 it only shows 172P(1982)?
aditya_vys98
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 8:10 am

Re: Flight gear 2.6 only opens C172

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu May 09, 2019 11:07 am

Yes, you only have the 172 installed by default.
You need to install other aircraft to see them - if you go to addons tab, the first option is where you can set up the official "hangar" allowing you to download and install aircraft in flightgear directly.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7072
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Flight gear 2.6 only opens C172

Postby AndersG » Thu May 09, 2019 12:56 pm

aditya_vys98 wrote in Thu May 09, 2019 10:49 am:is this how it is by default that when you install 3.2 it only shows 172P(1982)?


Yes, and please note that the year-part of the version numbers is very important, so, presumably, 2018.3.2 is the version you have installed now.
Callsign: SE-AG
Aircraft (uhm...): Submarine Scout, Zeppelin NT, ZF Navy free balloon, Nordstern, Hindenburg, Short Empire flying-boat, ZNP-K, North Sea class, MTB T21 class, U.S.S. Monitor, MFI-9B, Type UB I submarine, Gokstad ship, Renault FT.
AndersG
 
Posts: 2443
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest