Board index FlightGear Support

Two views on different screens, e.g. Cockpit and Fly-By View  Topic is solved

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Two views on different screens, e.g. Cockpit and Fly-By View

Postby think nice things » Sun Apr 21, 2019 10:36 am

Hi,

I've two monitors and like to have on a main monitor the cockpit view and on the second monitor another view (say a fly-by view).
I read through README.multiscreen (and various other websites) and managed to configure fg to use a single window on screens but with a single view.
I'm running fg 2018.3.2 as it comes with debian unstable.

Is far as I understand, I've to configure two cameras on my single window, isn't it?
Unfortunately, I'm a bit lost on how to define the two cameras.

I'd be happy if I could get any hints / examples on how to configure the cameras.

Here's the configuration which I've set up to use the two screens.

Code: Select all
<PropertyList>
  <sim>
    <rendering>
      <camera-group>
        <window>
          <name>wide</name>
          <host-name type="string"></host-name>
          <display>0</display>
          <screen>0</screen>
          <width>2960</width>
          <height>1024</height>
          <x>0</x>
          <y>0</y>
          <decoration type = "bool">false</decoration>
          <fullscreen type = "bool">true</fullscreen>
          <overrideRedirect type = "bool">true</overrideRedirect>
        </window>
        <camera>
           ...
       </camera>
        <camera>
           ...
       </camera>
think nice things
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 7:15 am

Re: Two views on different screens, e.g. Cockpit and Fly-By   

Postby Torsten » Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:41 am

This is the config I used for our FSWeekend setup a couple of years ago:
https://sourceforge.net/p/pmpt/fsweeken ... config.xml
It makes use of quite a few screens and cameras and the alignment of the monitors relative to the master perspective.

For your original question to have different view types on the screen: I don't think this is possible.

Torsten
flightgear.org - where development happens.
User avatar
Torsten
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: near Hamburg, Germany
Callsign: offline
Version: next
OS: Linux

Re: Two views on different screens, e.g. Cockpit and Fly-By

Postby think nice things » Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:33 pm

Torsten wrote in Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:41 am:This is the config I used for our FSWeekend setup a couple of years ago:
https://sourceforge.net/p/pmpt/fsweeken ... config.xml
It makes use of quite a few screens and cameras and the alignment of the monitors relative to the master perspective.

For your original question to have different view types on the screen: I don't think this is possible.

Torsten


Thanks Torsten, this helped a lot!
Btw. it is possible to have different views on one screen.
Set configuration for having a small region of the screen on the bottom right with a different view is:

Image

Code: Select all
<PropertyList>
  <sim>
    <rendering>
      <camera-group>
        <window>
          <name>main</name>
          <host-name type="string"></host-name>
          <display>0</display>
          <screen>0</screen>
          <width>1680</width>
          <height>1023</height>
          <x>1024</x>
          <y>0</y>
        </window>
   <camera>
     <window>
       <name>main</name>
     </window>
          <view>
            <heading-deg type = "double">0</heading-deg>
          </view>
   </camera>
   <camera>
     <window>
       <name>main</name>
     </window>
          <view>
            <heading-deg type = "double">0</heading-deg>
            <!-- 20, 0.21, -3, 7 -->
            <!-- 0.21, -2, 10 -->
            <x>0.21</x>
            <y>-1.8</y>
            <z>6</z>
            <pitch-deg>3</pitch-deg>
          </view>
          <viewport>
            <x>980</x>
            <y>0</y>
            <width>700</width>
            <height>400</height>
          </viewport>
   </camera>
        <gui>
          <window>
            <name type="string">main</name>
          </window>
        </gui>
      </camera-group>
    </rendering>
  </sim>
</PropertyList>
Last edited by think nice things on Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
think nice things
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 7:15 am

Re: Two views on different screens, e.g. Cockpit and Fly-By

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:18 pm

think nice things wrote in Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:33 pm:(sorry I didn't manage to post a screenshot...)

post screenshots to hosting sites like imgur and then post the image link in bbcode img tags here...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5572
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Applebot [Bot] and 11 guests