Board index FlightGear Support

Jetways Help

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Jetways Help

Postby Captain97 » Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:48 pm

I need help. I am trying to use the animated jetways, but I keep getting an error message. "your aircraft does not define the location of door one". That happens with every aircraft except for the Boeing 777, the Airbus A380 plus, and the E-jet family. So, I have two questions.

Question One: Why does the jetway work for the 777, the A380, and the E-jets, but none of the other aircraft?

Question Two: Is there a way for me to define the door locations for the other aircraft even though I'm not the one who made the aircraft?


Edit: I just realized I forgot to mention my OS and flightgear version

I am on MacOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6

My Flightgear version is 2018.2.2

Edit: I just checked, and it also works with the 747.
Captain97
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: Jetways Help

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:18 pm

it should also work properly for the UFO as there was work done specifically for this to ease working with the jetways and the UFO...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5501
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Jetways Help

Postby Captain97 » Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:23 pm

I have not yet checked with the UFO. Mainly because I never fly with the UFO. However, back to my question, why do the jetways work with some aircraft not not work with others?
Captain97
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: Jetways Help

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:44 pm

your error message tells you why... specifically, the craft does not define the position for the door...

each craft is designed, built and maintained by individuals or groups of individuals... they can design it how ever they want... some may not even yet know about this need for using their craft with the jetways... it is not mandatory to support all features the simulator offers...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5501
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Jetways Help

Postby Captain97 » Thu Oct 25, 2018 5:29 pm

And the 2nd part to my question? Is there a way for me to define the door locations for the other aircraft even though I'm not the one who made the aircraft?
Captain97
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: Jetways Help

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Oct 26, 2018 12:51 am

yes there is but i do not know the details... you'd have to look at the code for craft that do define the location and figure out how to add it to the craft you desire it to be in... i'm sure the maintainers of those craft would appreciate patches to provide the feature... you might want to check with them first, though, and see if the feature is already available in a dev version of the craft or not :)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5501
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Jetways Help

Postby Captain97 » Sat Oct 27, 2018 8:47 pm

Can anyone give me details on how I can fix it?
Captain97
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: Jetways Help

Postby WoodSTokk » Sat Oct 27, 2018 11:55 pm

A quick look in the 777-200-set.xml shows under sim/model the following records:
Code: Select all
            <door>
                <position-x-m type="float">-18.30</position-x-m>
                <position-y-m type="float"> -2.95</position-y-m>
                <position-z-m type="float"> -0.42</position-z-m>
                <jetway-hood-deg type="float">3</jetway-hood-deg>
            </door>
            <door>
                <position-x-m type="float">-7.67</position-x-m>
                <position-y-m type="float"> -2.95</position-y-m>
                <position-z-m type="float"> -0.42</position-z-m>
                <jetway-hood-deg type="float">3</jetway-hood-deg>
            </door>

It look easy to define doors on a airplain.
But there should also be a article in the wiki.

EDIT:
Yes, there is a wiki page: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:Animated_jetways
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: Jetways Help

Postby Captain97 » Sun Oct 28, 2018 12:56 am

That article just tells you how to use the jetways with an aircraft which has the doors already defined. I’ve searched through the wiki, but I can’t find anything about being able to define the doors on an aircraft.
Captain97
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: Jetways Help

Postby WoodSTokk » Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:46 am

Look closer and you will find http://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:Animated_jetways#Adding_support_in_aircraft.
In short, the lines i have posted are one part. The second part are 9 lines in the model xml file.
You need only the correct x/y/z coordinate and the angle.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests