Board index FlightGear Support

Keyboard binding assignments

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Keyboard binding assignments

Postby GonzaU2 » Sat Aug 18, 2018 2:32 am

Split off from the topic 2018.3 Release

Well, I absolutely have no right to ask for any changes since I'm a new user and I'm just so grateful after finding this great simulator! But I am having some problems with the keyboard assignments (probably because I'm using a Mac), so if there's one thing I'd change, it'd be that I can change the keyboard assignments from the game itself, like in X-Plane or most videogames, having a user-friendly interface. But again, I know that you've already worked more than a lot, so if you haven't done it before is probably because that's very difficult
Last edited by Johan G on Sun Aug 19, 2018 3:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Split off from the topic "2018.3 Release"
GonzaU2
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 1:29 am
Location: Seville, Spain
Version: 2018.2.2.
OS: macOS High Sierra

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby KhalidHalimFG » Sat Aug 18, 2018 4:19 pm

@Gonza, umm... I am not sure how your asking for...
My Flightgear channel, from Egypt to all around the world!

"Dealing with keyboard and mouse, what else?". :)

"EgyptAir 986, go ahead." Now celebrating over 100 replies and posts. Next is 150 or 200.
KhalidHalimFG
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 6:06 pm
Location: Egypt, El-Mansura City (Around 3hrs away from HECA aka CAI and Cairo Intl.)
Callsign: SU-ASZ
IRC name: Khalid
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: Windows 10 Home x64

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby GonzaU2 » Sat Aug 18, 2018 6:08 pm

KhalidHalimFG wrote in Sat Aug 18, 2018 4:19 pm:@Gonza, umm... I am not sure how your asking for...


Hi Khalid! I don't quite understand your message, I'm sorry :S I probably didn't explain myself in my previous message.

I'm just saying that it'd be cool to have an option within the game to change the keyboard assignment (like for example controlling the throttle with A and Z, for example). But I understand that if it hasn't been done so far it's because it must be really difficult, and I know there's a way of changing the assignments using one file within the folder of the game, but I'm not very good at it :oops:

Still, I'm really enjoying the game and I'm looking forward for this next release :D
"Learning to fly" (PF-SYD)
GonzaU2
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 1:29 am
Location: Seville, Spain
Version: 2018.2.2.
OS: macOS High Sierra

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby KhalidHalimFG » Sat Aug 18, 2018 10:44 pm

Ok, @Gonza, I am enjoying with FG, from Egypt (the ARE/Arab Republic of Egypt).
My Flightgear channel, from Egypt to all around the world!

"Dealing with keyboard and mouse, what else?". :)

"EgyptAir 986, go ahead." Now celebrating over 100 replies and posts. Next is 150 or 200.
KhalidHalimFG
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 6:06 pm
Location: Egypt, El-Mansura City (Around 3hrs away from HECA aka CAI and Cairo Intl.)
Callsign: SU-ASZ
IRC name: Khalid
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: Windows 10 Home x64

Re: Keyboard binding assignments

Postby Johan G » Sun Aug 19, 2018 3:59 pm

@GonzaU2: It might be a bit trickier than you think at first, but it can be done. Unfortunately, as some aircraft are very simple (like for example a non-powered glider) and some are very complex (like the space shuttle), a lot of the key bindings are set in the aircraft configuration files and only some in FlightGear's configuration files.

The key bindings can be very flexible though, and can even include embedded scripts that are run when a key is pressed. FlightGear is equally flexible when it comes to joysticks and other devices.

For a good starting point see the FlightGear wiki article Howto:Reassign keyboard bindings (perm).
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests