Board index FlightGear Support

Help with Flightgear

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Help with Flightgear

Postby anglenora2022 » Fri May 25, 2018 1:48 am

Sorry to ask such a question, but how do you run Flightgear? I downloaded the following files from Synaptic: Flightgear, fgfs-base, and simgear0. I'm using Debian, Gnome, Ubuntu, and normally when I download a game that doesn't appear in Applications>Games, I can run it from a terminal by typing the name. So I tried entering flightgear in the terminal, but it doesn't recognize the command. I also looked through the list of available commands (at least the ones starting with "fl") and I can't find anything that looks like it would run it. So I was just wondering if there is something I'm missing, or if what I downloaded from Synaptic isn't the actual game.
anglenora2022
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 4:18 am

Re: Help with Flightgear

Postby Thorsten » Fri May 25, 2018 4:19 am

From the commandline it's usually

Code: Select all
fgfs


with flags for where your scenery and your FGData is appended of course
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10587
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Help with Flightgear

Postby bugman » Fri May 25, 2018 12:38 pm

Also try:

Code: Select all
fgfs --launcher

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1630
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

Re: Help with Flightgear

Postby Thorsten » Fri May 25, 2018 5:54 pm

Why would you want a launcher if you know how to use a commandline??? :?:
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10587
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Help with Flightgear

Postby bugman » Sat May 26, 2018 10:33 am

Because anglenora2022 might be a new user who would appreciate not using the command line options :)

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1630
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

Re: Help with Flightgear

Postby wkitty42 » Sat May 26, 2018 4:55 pm

:lol: i've used the command line for over 30 years and i use the launcher in flightgear :mrgreen:
it is convenient and allows for easily adjusting one's settings... plus i'm making sure i run it so i can test it and provide feedback to james...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5311
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests