Board index FlightGear Support

Engine start - where are the switches???

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Engine start - where are the switches???

Postby HFC3 » Wed May 23, 2018 1:21 am

Where can I find the location of the switches for each aircraft during engine start? For instance, 737 - you need to turn fuel pumps on, etc, then start each engine in sequence, etc. When I run through the engine start process, it doesn't show me where the switch is that needs adjusting :( Even the Cesna default - trying engine start it flashes "Use the Primer!" notice, but doesn't tell me where that is!

It's even worse on the larger commercial aircraft with multiple engines. If I use the "AutoStart" the engines do start, but no matter what throttle setting I use I cannot get the spool up higher than idle. This is true no matter what "brake" settings are used (suggested in manual).
HFC3
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 1:07 am

Re: Engine start - where are the switches???

Postby wlbragg » Wed May 23, 2018 2:38 am

In the case of the c172p (Cessna) it has a complete set of tutorials to help you learn how to inspect, start, fly and land the aircraft. Look under Help/Tutorials. As far as the other aircraft in FlightGear it depends on the stage of development as to how much help they offer. This is a simulator and the user is expected to have a reasonable amount of aircraft knowledge in order to be able to operate many of the more advanced aircraft, If not, then that is what the auto-start is for. Even then you still have to have some general knowledge of aviation.
One hint for spooling the engine up to full throttle is to do it slowly or you can kill the engine. If you hear the engine rpm increasing and you are not moving, chances are you have the parking brake on. Or in the case of some aircraft so equipped (c172p), the wheel chocks or tie-downs in place.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 3954
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Engine start - where are the switches???

Postby Thorsten » Wed May 23, 2018 5:10 am

Where can I find the location of the switches for each aircraft during engine start?


It really depends on the aircraft.

Some come with zero documentation and you have to figure things out by reverse-engineering the code, some are lavishly documented with hundreds of pages of manual, some come with in-sim tutorials which indicate the position of controls, some have at least tooltips which tell you what a control is when you hover the mouse over it, some assume you know the flight manual of the original plane,...

This is a volunteer effort, each developer does things according to his own vision and pace.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 9427
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Engine start - where are the switches???

Postby wkitty42 » Wed May 23, 2018 1:32 pm

wlbragg and Thorsten have covered most everything as to how to learn where the switches are in the craft... the only other thing i can offer, at this time, is to use CTRL-C to turn on the hiliting of all clickable switches, toggles, sliders, and knobs... then you can go and look at each of them to read more about what they are for... some craft do not implement all the switches even though they are in the model...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4296
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests