Board index FlightGear Support

Terrasync and windows - quick remedy

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

Please report any bugs not specific to an aircraft on the issue tracker.
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Terrasync and windows - quick remedy

Postby jaxsin » Wed Mar 02, 2016 5:23 pm

Updated 3/31/2016
    Will Only update .terrasync_cache files that have a corresponding .terrasync_cache.new file
    Deletes .terrasync_cache.new so any new updates will be downloaded, all you have to do is run this script again to update the cache files

The below command is for windows powershell. If you do not know what that is, figure it out first.

The command copies all the .terrasync_cache.new files to the proper .terrasync_cache files needed to download new models, tiles, etc(Does the same job as TerraSync bypassing the permission issue).
Problem:
Code: Select all
file remove failed: (./.terrasync_cache)  reason: Permission denied


Solution:
Try pasting this in powershell and change C:\Your\terrasync\dir to your terrasync root directory. Windows 7+ has PowerShell(hit windows key or open start menu and type"powershell" hit enter)
Code: Select all
 get-childitem -force C:\Your\terrasync\dir -Recurse -Include .terrasync_cache.new | foreach-object {copy-item -Path $_ -Destination ([system.string]$_).SubString(0, ([system.string]$_).LastIndexOf('.')); remove-item -Path $_.FullName}
Last edited by jaxsin on Thu Mar 31, 2016 4:25 pm, edited 6 times in total.
jaxsin
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:54 pm

Re: Terrasync and windows - quick remedy

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu Mar 31, 2016 1:36 pm

What does this do?
Does it rename all the .terrasync_caches?

If so, don't you have to redownload all the terrain and objects on starting FlightGear?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7776
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Terrasync and windows - quick remedy

Postby jaxsin » Thu Mar 31, 2016 1:41 pm

no, it searches your TerraSync directory for .terrasync_cache.new files. These are the files that are supposed to be updated by TerraSync, but because it can't delete the .terrasync_cahce files locally, it just saves the downloaded updated file from the server as *.new file extension.

All this command does is find those files and renames them as the new updated .terrasync_cache file like TerraSync should do. Then when you run TerraSync again it will download any of the models you don't have. I hope
jaxsin
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:54 pm

Re: Terrasync and windows - quick remedy

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu Mar 31, 2016 1:55 pm

I'll test.
I don't have any TerraSync to speak of besides UK and USA, so nothing to worry about...
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7776
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Terrasync and windows - quick remedy

Postby Alant » Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:01 pm

Yes deleting these cache files will work, but only temporarily. - Next day you will have the same problem and you will have to delete them all again.

Alan
Alant
 
Posts: 990
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Terrasync and windows - quick remedy

Postby jaxsin » Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:06 pm

Alant wrote in Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:01 pm:Yes deleting these cache files will work, but only temporarily. - Next day you will have the same problem and you will have to delete them all again.

Alan


Nope only the cache files that get updated. Afaik, they don't all get updated unless something changes, but maybe that is not correct. I always seem to get more and more failed permissions the longer terrasync goes without getting new cache files from the server.
jaxsin
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:54 pm


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests