Board index FlightGear Support

B52 Panels?

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

B52 Panels?

Postby TJConnery » Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:00 am

I loaded the B52F from the Flight Gear Page and do not have any instrument panels. This is most annoying because it appears to the the only way to use some of the autopilot features, like mach climb.

What am I missing? This flying gas can is oddly fun to fly, but a pain to get airloft.

Thanks,
TiCo
TJConnery
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: Exton, PA

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby PH-ZOM » Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:47 am

Maybe you could provide some details? (which OS, which version of fgfs, relevant startup command line switches and options)

I could imagine you have FG version 1.0.0 and the downloaded aircraft is for 1.9.0? Search the forum as there are more people having the same problem (and a solution)
PH-ZOM
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:05 am

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby TJConnery » Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:05 am

Sure, some details: FG 1.9.0, OS: Windows XP, used the launcher GUI that came with the software, selected the B-52 and intialized.

After I posted the question, I found out that all I needed to do was turn on the 2D panel. So now I have all the controls sorted, but I would be interested in a bit of advice on the take-off procedures. With a full load of fuel, after I rotate it is hard to get a decent angle of attack with the flaps extended, but when I close then, I have no lift because I am going so slow. I am off on the timing of the trimming here, and can't quite seem to get it right.

A lot of Avgas has been wasted as a result. Must have been some spectacular crashes...

Thanks for the help, I am still absorbing all the info in the web about this product. I am not a pilot or a developer so I am starting from the ground up!

Fun stuff.
TJConnery
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: Exton, PA

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby MD-Terp » Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:27 am

TJConnery wrote:after I rotate it is hard to get a decent angle of attack with the flaps extended, {...}

What flaps setting are you using for takeoff? I'm not familiar with the procedures for the B52 but for most planes the takeoff setting is very small compared to landing which is usually fully deployed (or nearly so). "Help" --> "Aircraft Help" from the menubar may provide some basic procedural guidelines (some planes' help screens include proper settings and speeds for takeoff and landing).

If none of the above helps for a quick answer, I'm sure someone else will chime in with more specific assistance.

Welcome aboard!
Cheers,
-Rob.

"Retired" from FlightGear involvement as of July 2010.
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=8809
User avatar
MD-Terp
 
Posts: 2420
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:37 am
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Callsign: N531MD, AVA0025

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby TJConnery » Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:51 am

The B-52 has only two flap settings, on or off and a 60 sec cycle time according to the aircraft data specs. The flaps are ginormous and the specs say that you can't climb with them extended, but the point at which you cycle them in is tricky. It seems to be somewhere between 15-45 seconds after rotating. At this point you are only at about 350 feet going 100-120 KIAS, and she starts to lean and stall until she's trimmed. I had one sucessful take-off from KEWR and climbed about to 30,000' and flew over KPIT on my way to KORD when the program overran my Laptop and jammed. I thought the B52 had a higher top speed, but I was only able to cruise at about 300-350 KIAS at 30,000', just a Flying gas can with a bomb payload.

Long story short, I am looking for the timing on the trim on climb out to keep the civlians safe on the ground!

Thanks,
Tim
TJConnery
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: Exton, PA

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby MD-Terp » Mon Jan 12, 2009 12:06 pm

TJConnery wrote:I thought the B52 had a higher top speed, but I was only able to cruise at about 300-350 KIAS at 30,000',

The difference between KIAS versus groundspeed increases with altitude, so 300-350 at FL300 is actually quite fast; something like 480-550.
Cheers,
-Rob.

"Retired" from FlightGear involvement as of July 2010.
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=8809
User avatar
MD-Terp
 
Posts: 2420
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:37 am
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Callsign: N531MD, AVA0025

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby BATTLEMASTER » Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:18 am

I added 3 more flap positions (4 total now) to the B-52. I don't know how many positions the real plane has, but it makes it easier to fly :)

I think I posted it up in the modeling forum, if I remember correctly.
BATTLEMASTER

Callsign: BLR-2C
Aircraft: F-15C Eagle, F-4X Phantom II, F-8 Crusader, C-130H Hercules, B-2 Spirit, XB-35, B-1B
Spacecraft: Bluebird, Danube-Class Runabout, Type 6 Shuttlecraft
Airports: KROC, KEDW, KJFK, KLAX, KORD, KMCO, EGLL
BATTLEMASTER
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 4:53 am

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby Gijs » Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:05 am

From the mailinglist:
David Culp wrote:I got a ride in a B-52 once, and the takeoff is very interesting. Because of the very high wing incidence angle and effective flaps, the airplane doesn't need to be rotated at all. It just ascends when the appropriate speed is reached. In fact, after liftoff the nose is pushed downward to decrease climb rate and increase acceleration. They climb out with what looks like about a -5 degree body angle.

One tip: empty you fuel tanks a lot! First try to takeoff with half full fuel tanks, then increase the fuel (and thus weight) in steps until you've reached full takeoff weight...
I managed to takeoff (and keep airborn). When you are retracting your flaps, you might climb very slowly or not at all. As long as you don't descend everything is fine. Make sure you have some speed ( 150 kts or above) before you retract the flaps (or you will descend).

BTW, there is also an automatic TO Mode in the B-52 ;)

Good luck!
Gijs
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9381
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby TJConnery » Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:46 am

Thanks for the input. I am getting used to the gradual ascent with a full load of fuel. I tried reducing the fuel load, but with 11 tanks and no idea of the configuration, I could not get the aircract balanced correctly. I was trying to find one tank near the plane's center of gravity to fill and leave the others empty.

I wonder if development plans call for a weapons payload. That would only increase the weight further.

Just curious, do/did? they refuel the B52 mid-air and how many gas cans did it take?!

G'day.

TiCo
TJConnery
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: Exton, PA

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby Gijs » Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:16 pm

Hi,

TJConnery wrote:I tried reducing the fuel load, but with 11 tanks and no idea of the configuration, I could not get the aircract balanced correctly. I was trying to find one tank near the plane's center of gravity to fill and leave the others empty.

Total fuel for the F model was 41553 gal incl the external tanks. There are a total of ten internal tanks, three located in the wings and four along the top of the fuselage above the bomb bay. I don't know what percentage was held in the wings vs. the fuselage but I'm guessing that more was held in the fuselage tank than half of the wing tank total.

There are also two external wing tanks holding 3000 gal each. fgfs seems to convert gal to lbs using a ratio of 1:6 giving a total of 249318 lb of fuel, of which 18000 lb are in each external tank. That leaves 213318 of fuel to be distributed in the wings and fuselage.

The tanks are layed out in the order
Fuselage front to back
1. 23329.5 lbs
2. 23329.5 lbs
3. 23329.5 lbs
4. 23329.5 lbs
Tot: 93318.0 lbs
Left wing fuselage to tip
1. 30000.0 lbs
2. 20000.0 lbs
3. 10000.0 lbs
Tot: 60000.0 lbs
Right wing fuselage to tip
1. 30000.0 lbs
2. 20000.0 lbs
3. 10000.0 lbs
Tot: 60000.0 lbs
Left ext
18000.0 lbs
Right ext
18000.0 lbs

(in FlightGear tank 1 is the upper tank in this list and tank 12 is the last one)

Just curious, do/did? they refuel the B52 mid-air and how many gas cans did it take?!

Yes, they actually do: http://community.webshots.com/photo/ful ... 0192LINcRm
You can also find some videos on Youtube ;)

Oh and keep this in mind when you are trying to do some manouvres: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maSOexmm ... re=related

Regards,
Gijs
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9381
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby guzzi948 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:57 pm

Running 18.3.1 on W10. Unable to get any kind of panel to work, using P - toggle 2D panel, S - swap panels, c - toggle 3D/2D panel. Same problem in previous versions and other Windows versions.
Any ideas?
User avatar
guzzi948
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:20 am
Location: Queensland Australia
Callsign: VH-948
Version: 2017.1.3
OS: Win10-64

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 3:41 pm

you realize this topis has been dead for 10 years, right?
what panels are you speaking of? 2D, 3D or something else?
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5721
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby guzzi948 » Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:07 am

The B52 only has 2D. I'm try to use the mini panel. I figured out how to get it working but it fills the whole screen, and my efforts to resize it haven't been successful so far.
User avatar
guzzi948
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:20 am
Location: Queensland Australia
Callsign: VH-948
Version: 2017.1.3
OS: Win10-64

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Apr 10, 2019 3:36 pm

if it is like other 2D panels i've seen, WYSIWYG... there is no resizing of them...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5721
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: B52 Panels?

Postby guzzi948 » Thu Apr 11, 2019 11:49 am

The config file for the mini panel has provisions for resizing and offsetting, none of which appear to do anything. At this point I'm admitting defeat and moving on. It probably works fine on a single monitor, but it takes over a triple monitor setup :-(
User avatar
guzzi948
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:20 am
Location: Queensland Australia
Callsign: VH-948
Version: 2017.1.3
OS: Win10-64

Next

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest