Board index FlightGear Support

Stuck forever on "loading scenery"

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

Please report any bugs not specific to an aircraft on the issue tracker.
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Stuck forever on "loading scenery"

Postby StevePER » Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:01 pm

Since updating FlightGear to the latest git version a few days ago, it takes "forever" to load (ie hasn't loaded after 60 to 90 minutes). I've tried a few things like updating my data directory to the latest from git, clearing my Terrasync cache and clearing my navdata cache, but these haven't helped. I've tried different aircraft and different airports. Any other ideas?

Example output (doesn't seem to give any clues):
Code: Select all
$ fgfs --aircraft=737-700 --airport=ypph                               
Enabling ATI viewport hack
Starting automatic scenery download/synchronization. Using built-in SVN support. Directory: '/home/steve/.fgfs/TerraSync'.
environment init
Nasal runtime error: nil used in numeric context
  at /usr/share/games/flightgear-live/Aircraft/737NG/Systems/systems.nas, line 316
  called from: /usr/share/games/flightgear-live/Nasal/globals.nas, line 110
Initializing Doors
lighting OK
StevePER
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:03 am
Location: Perth, Australia (YPPH)
Version: git
OS: Gentoo

Re: Stuck forever on "loading scenery"

Postby StevePER » Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:34 pm

Still stuck on this problem. Running with --log-level=debug, this is the last thing to be output:

Code: Select all
raffic manager could not find arrival airport   : ZBYC
Traffic manager could not find departure airport : ZBYC
Traffic manager could not find departure airport : ZGZJ
Traffic manager could not find arrival airport   : ZUDX
FGEnvironmentMgr::update: updating closest airport
NoaaMetarRealWxController::update(): (re) checking nearby airport with METAR
NoaaMetarRealWxController::update(): nearest airport with METAR is: YPPH
FGEnvironmentMgr::update: updating closest airport
FGEnvironmentMgr::update: updating closest airport
NoaaMetarRealWxController::update(): (re) checking nearby airport with METAR
NoaaMetarRealWxController::update(): nearest airport with METAR is: YPPH
FGEnvironmentMgr::update: updating closest airport
FGEnvironmentMgr::update: updating closest airport
NoaaMetarRealWxController::update(): (re) checking nearby airport with METAR
NoaaMetarRealWxController::update(): nearest airport with METAR is: YPPH
FGEnvironmentMgr::update: updating closest airport
FGEnvironmentMgr::update: updating closest airport
NoaaMetarRealWxController::update(): (re) checking nearby airport with METAR
NoaaMetarRealWxController::update(): nearest airport with METAR is: YPPH
FGEnvironmentMgr::update: updating closest airport
StevePER
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:03 am
Location: Perth, Australia (YPPH)
Version: git
OS: Gentoo

Re: Stuck forever on "loading scenery"

Postby StevePER » Sun May 11, 2014 3:07 pm

I'm still stuck on this problem. I've reinstalled from git several times and updated my flightgear-data. Tonight I started looking at source code and found it is getting stuck in FGTileMgr::update (isSceneryLoaded is true but fdmInited is false). In FDMShell::update(), the call to scenery_available() is returning false so fdm-initialized is never set to true.

And that's as far as I can get with it tonight.
StevePER
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:03 am
Location: Perth, Australia (YPPH)
Version: git
OS: Gentoo

Re: Stuck forever on "loading scenery"

Postby Hooray » Sun May 11, 2014 3:31 pm

that sounds helpful, if you can, please file a bug report so that this can be reviewed in time for 3.2
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: Stuck forever on "loading scenery"

Postby Thorsten » Sun May 11, 2014 3:58 pm

By accident I figured out yesterday for recent GIT that if you don't have terrasync on and try to start from an airport for which there's no scenery on disk, FG doesn't tell you so and quits or places you into the ocean, but just continues to load forever. Might also happen if you have terrasync on but no internet connection.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 12490
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:33 am

Re: Stuck forever on "loading scenery"

Postby StevePER » Mon May 12, 2014 2:23 pm

A couple more levels of debugging:
  • FGScenery::scenery_available() is returning false because the call to get_elevation_m() is returning false
  • in FGScenery::get_elevation_m(), the call to intersectVistor::getHaveHit() returns false

I've raised this: http://code.google.com/p/flightgear-bug ... il?id=1470

I've tried with and without terrasync enabled, and it happens either way.
StevePER
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:03 am
Location: Perth, Australia (YPPH)
Version: git
OS: Gentoo

Re: Stuck forever on "loading scenery"

Postby Philosopher » Mon May 12, 2014 2:33 pm

Do you have a .fgfsrc or any other options when you do this? I think when I had these options (from wiki) it wouldn't load scenery (or something):
Code: Select all
    --prop:/sim/rendering/draw-mask/terrain=0
    --prop:/sim/rendering/draw-mask/aircraft=0
    --prop:/sim/rendering/draw-mask/models=0
    --prop:/sim/rendering/draw-mask/clouds=0

And then some YASim FDMs used to cause it for me, IIRC.
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1593
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: Stuck forever on "loading scenery"

Postby StevePER » Tue May 13, 2014 2:43 pm

I only have a couple of things in .fgfsrc which are unrelated to scenery:
Code: Select all
--airport=YPPH
--callsign=VH-STV

The command line I'm trying at the moment is fgfs --log-level=debug --disable-ai-traffic --airport=ypph --enable-terrasync
StevePER
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:03 am
Location: Perth, Australia (YPPH)
Version: git
OS: Gentoo

Re: Stuck forever on "loading scenery"

Postby Jduba01 » Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:49 pm

I had this issue - I installed the scenery files manually, removed the terra sync checkbox (off) and the issue went away.
Jduba01
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:45 pm


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests