Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Cockpit development

Concorde cockpit redesign

Discussion about creating 2d and 3d cockpits.

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby fmanu » Sun Apr 19, 2020 10:33 am

Hello. You desserve some updates.

I make a lot of work with switches. Here's the screenshot:


Image

I have a problem. On the pressurization system, the double switches does not move in 3D. But i don't remember if the switches worked in 2D when i tried to climb to 70 000 ft. xD

For the roof. I think i understand what you are talking about. I will try to remove dots on the switch. I could import the switch on Blender, but i have an issue. I can not zoom to the switch. When i try to approach, the mesh is disappearing. I show you:

Image

I had the idea, to make scale x100, to edit and to make scale x0.01 before saving. Tell me if i have another solution.

I saw the numerical gauges too. I will try to make needle gauges, but in 2d for now. xD

You think that some people will want this model? I can export my work to github? You want me to export to your folder? I make my own account?

Tell me what you think. :)
User avatar
fmanu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:26 am
Callsign: F-MANU
OS: Archlinux

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sun Apr 19, 2020 10:37 am

Toggle between ortho and perspective mode - on my system it's numpad five. :)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7849
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby CaptB » Sun Apr 19, 2020 11:02 am

You're adding way too much complexity for a simple switch, reduce the polycount,there's no need for that much. No one will look up that close at a switch to admire those smooth curves.
Ongoing projects(3D modelling): A320, MD-11, A350, B767
FG767: https://fg767.wordpress.com/
CaptB
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 6:36 pm
Callsign: EKCH_AP
IRC name: CAPTB
Version: 2020.1.1
OS: Xubuntu 20.04

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby fmanu » Sun Apr 19, 2020 3:10 pm

Legoboyvdlp, you helped me! :)

Image

But now i have to find how to include the texture. When i load the plane, the switch looks very different from the base ball. I let here the switch for today. :)
User avatar
fmanu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:26 am
Callsign: F-MANU
OS: Archlinux

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby fmanu » Wed Apr 22, 2020 5:52 pm

Hi! I would like to update you. :)

I'm doing my way, learning at the same time. :)

Here's the panel :)

Image

I try to master shapes and textures. this is not yet perfect. But it works. :)

Image
In construction. I learn to master textures. They are here, but not yet displayed at render.

I created an account on github, i will try to find a way to update the entire folder.

Thank you for your help. :)
User avatar
fmanu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:26 am
Callsign: F-MANU
OS: Archlinux

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Wed Apr 22, 2020 6:28 pm

I used GitKraken.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2142
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Apr 22, 2020 6:53 pm

Looks like good progress :)

Try using smooth shading on the objects to remove the faces. This means that it looks better, without having to add excessive vertices. Also, faces that won't be seen (e.g. on the backside) may be deleted, which also helps with performance.

You can find the smooth shading control on the left hand side toolbar, in object mode under Shading / UV
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7849
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby fmanu » Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:46 am

Hi. Thank you for your help.

I could launch GitKraken and export to github.

I give you the link: https://github.com/fgfs-fmanu/Concorde-Flightgear/

Tell me if you like it.

Not everything is clean, and i don't master all the tools. But tell me what you think. Tell me if the addon works for you. Maybe we have to force a little on trans-sonic, on climb.

Enjoy. Episode to be continued. :)

Edit: I'm sorry. i didn't find how to add my modification to the master branch. Can you wait a little?

Edit 2: No it works. All the files are here. :)
User avatar
fmanu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:26 am
Callsign: F-MANU
OS: Archlinux

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby fmanu » Sat May 02, 2020 9:30 pm

Hello.

I would like to update you on my progress. I'm continuing the engines indicator on the flight engineer panel.

Here's a screenshot:

Image

By doing further researches, i found that this serrie of instrument is not on the flight engineer panel. I found the real indicators on Heritage Concorde: https://www.heritageconcorde.com/fwd-mid-engineers-panel

I would like to make these instruments, but i need to find variables like "Turbine Cooling Air Temperature" or pressure on the jet pipe. Do you know where i can find all the variables of a plane? Do they exist? If they do not exist, i will let the same indicators as before but in 3D, for a while, because i do not master Nasal or the planes system behaviors on Flightgear for now.
User avatar
fmanu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:26 am
Callsign: F-MANU
OS: Archlinux

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby islandmonkey » Wed May 06, 2020 12:46 pm

I am having a strange issue with this variant. The engine cuts off about ten seconds after it starts up...
User avatar
islandmonkey
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 8:51 pm
Location: EGCN (uni), EGHI (home)
Callsign: G-MNKY
OS: Ubuntu 20.04

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby fmanu » Fri May 08, 2020 12:08 pm

You must start fuel pumps from 1 to 4. Because the ten seconds of engines on is the fuel in the pipes between the 4 feed tanks and the engines. :p
User avatar
fmanu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:26 am
Callsign: F-MANU
OS: Archlinux

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby fmanu » Wed May 13, 2020 10:48 am

New push.

Image

Enjoy.

But i have a question. I've got a big problem of initialization on XML. When I put conditions in my rotations, the program take into account of these conditions, but not when it initializes. And i have switches on extravagant positions, and we have to manipulate it for it stay at the right place. And the needles of the fuel gauges indicates the fuel quantity even when there is no voltage, but stop moving if we change the fuel quantity. I don't understand. If you have an idea of how to fix it. :)

Have a good flight!
User avatar
fmanu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:26 am
Callsign: F-MANU
OS: Archlinux

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sun Jul 05, 2020 1:14 pm

@BAWV12, discovered that the Concorde uses the same "Calvary charge" autopilot disconnect sound, seems the Airbus engineers were good at copying :D

Feel free to take this sound from the Airbus A320, if you wish, to replace "Sound/overspeed2" :)

The sound is generated in audacity using the technical specification (I believe it is a square wave), so is 100% accurate to the real one.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7849
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby wlbragg » Sun Jul 05, 2020 5:06 pm

but not when it initializes.

Typically you would initialize a default value for any given property at start up by adding a tag pair in the -set.xml file, or possibly an autopilot or property rule that controls the property. If I am understanding your question correctly?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5951
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby fmanu » Sun Jul 05, 2020 7:35 pm

User avatar
fmanu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:26 am
Callsign: F-MANU
OS: Archlinux

Previous

Return to Cockpit development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest