Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Cockpit development

Concorde cockpit redesign

Discussion about creating 2d and 3d cockpits.

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Apr 04, 2020 4:23 pm

if you are trying to answer the question of "which of the three or four OSGs did you use?" you did not succeed...

you did, however, eliminate your distro supplied version since ubuntu is shipping OSG 3.6.4 ;)

so we're down to "is your build process pulling from the official OSG repo or from FG's OSG repo?"
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6960
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Sat Apr 04, 2020 5:06 pm

Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2142
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Apr 04, 2020 6:40 pm

i know exactly how it works... i'm one of the people that has fixed/modified/updated the dnc script...

you've still not answered the question above or corrected the original statement about "badly installed OpenSceneGraphs" which i've shown is a false statement ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6960
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:47 pm

IMHO, when OSG X.Y.Z version doesn't work good and version A.B.C working flawless, I can designate X.Y.Z version as bad, or badly installed.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2142
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Apr 04, 2020 11:46 pm

a) does this have to be in this topic? (i.e. maybe it could be split into a (pinned?) post about OSG?)

b) do we have to go on... and on... and on... about something that we already know for years now?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7849
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Sun Apr 05, 2020 5:44 am

IMHO, not.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2142
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby fmanu » Sun Apr 05, 2020 10:24 am

That's a good question for redesign. I don't know the tools. The files are quite complicated. This plane is a very good work. :)
User avatar
fmanu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:26 am
Callsign: F-MANU
OS: Archlinux

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby fmanu » Sun Apr 05, 2020 11:08 am

I found something cool. on the file Concorde.xml, i modified the value Drag_due_to_Elevator_Deflection from 0.0055 to 0.055. I started climbing and then i transfered all the fuel on the tail tank to the front tank. Here what happened.

Image

Image

The plane could not climb anymore. I don't know the real value of drag due to elevator, but i know where to act to add more realsim on the plane balancing. :)

What do you think? :)
User avatar
fmanu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:26 am
Callsign: F-MANU
OS: Archlinux

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Sun Apr 05, 2020 2:13 pm

Excellent !!!
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2142
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby fmanu » Sun Apr 05, 2020 3:04 pm

Thank you. :)

But i don't know the good coefficient. :s

What software do you use for modelling? I'm on archlinux.
User avatar
fmanu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:26 am
Callsign: F-MANU
OS: Archlinux

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby D-ECHO » Sun Apr 05, 2020 3:37 pm

What part of modelling do you mean? ;)
3D mesh? Texture? Systems? Flight Dynamics? :D
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 2151
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Sun Apr 05, 2020 6:02 pm

I use Blender for 3D models and Gimp for textures.
I try to found some drag data in old FSLabs Concorde, if I remember correctly, this effects was simulated very good.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2142
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby fmanu » Sun Apr 05, 2020 7:53 pm

Finally, i think that 0.0055 was the good coefficient.
Higher, we can not climb to FL500 or go to max range.
I thought i could easily improve. I'm sorry.... It's a big work. You made a good plane. :)
User avatar
fmanu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:26 am
Callsign: F-MANU
OS: Archlinux

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Sun Apr 05, 2020 8:53 pm

No, I did not made this plane. I reworked exists plane from 2D cockpit to 3D one and fixed many bugs.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2142
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Tue Apr 07, 2020 9:15 am

fmanu wrote in Sun Apr 05, 2020 7:53 pm:I thought i could easily improve.

Table with independent altitude and dependent drag coefficient should solve this problem.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2142
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

PreviousNext

Return to Cockpit development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest