Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Cockpit development

Concorde cockpit redesign

Discussion about creating 2d and 3d cockpits.

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:01 pm

Yes, reheater is afterburner. Reheated is exhaust gas leaving engine's nozzle.
Vapor over the wings - I'm landing with AoA 10 degree and can see vapor, but from other MP plane flying in close distance that vapor is not visible.

How to send properties over MP protocol ? I'm using this syntax for contrail size :
Code: Select all
<expression>
<div>
<dif>
<property>engines/engine[1]/n2</property>
<value>40</value>
</dif>
<value>20</value>
</div>
</expression>


Is it OK ? Or need I use slash before property ?
Last edited by V12 on Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby Richard » Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:41 pm

When your aircraft is visible on another computer via MP - the only thing that is loaded is the 3d model. It is usual to transmit the properties that you need over MP rather than calculating them in the remote instance. To do this you will find a sim/multiplay/generic/int or sim/multiplay/generic/float that is unused and put the value in here; and use that value in the animations.

so if your property is in /some/property/path/contrail-size then add the <int> or <float> with the spare Id that you found and it should just work[1].

[code]
<sim>
<multiplay>
<generic>
...
<int n="8" alias="/some/property/path/contrail-size"/>

[code]

------------------
[1] obviously I haven't tested this so there may be an error, but you should get the general idea
Richard
 
Posts: 785
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 4:24 am

Is possible transfer result of the expression to the <int n="8" alias="/some/property/path/contrail-size"/> ? Because I have not special property for contrail size. Size is calculated from n2 by expression in viewtopic.php?p=308157#p308157

I have other strange observation :
- when I tested MP Concorde on PC 1 and Follow Me vehicle on PC 2, on this second machine I can't see engine smoke. But if I switched from Follow Me to the Concorde on PC 2, smoke was visible.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 5:41 am

I found glass cockpit for Concorde :

Image

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby Parnikkapore » Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:00 am

Looks like X-Plane 11 2D panel?
There are free alternatives to every program you encounter. You just have to find them.
Parnikkapore
 
Posts: 832
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:16 am
Callsign: HS-FGS
Version: next [PPA]
OS: Mint 18

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 1:28 pm

I don't know.

But now I'm hard working on better night cockpit for Concorde :

Image
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Mon Apr 10, 2017 3:58 am

I solved brake overheat red light madness. I don't know why, brake's property temperature-degc was not number, but string, then logical conditions around this property allways failed, because evaluation
Code: Select all
<less-than>
         <property>/systems/brakes/temperature-degc</property>
         <value>220</value>
</less-than>

was allways unpredictable. Fixed with
Code: Select all
<temperature-degc type="double">15.0</temperature-degc>

in concorde-init-systems.xml. After that, temperature-degc is allways number and all works fine.
Then I made some small graphics changes on the main panel and autopilot panel textures.

Now, I need find way, how this modified aircraft publish on FGADDON, or FGMEMBERS.

I have one ask :
How can I make interior texture depend on the livery ? I want add small charts into the cockpit, for British Airways EGLL and KJFK, for Air France LFPG and KIAD.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby D-ECHO » Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:20 am

You can do this just the same way it's done for the exterior texture, using a <material> animation.
This comes from Concorde_ba.xml:
Code: Select all
  <animation>
   <type>material</type>
   <object-name>Airframe</object-name>
   <property-base>sim/model/livery/</property-base>
   <texture-prop>texture</texture-prop>
  </animation>

Under <object-name> you'll put your interior object, then you just have to make sure the different textures are in the right place :D
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 2122
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby Thorsten » Mon Apr 10, 2017 5:16 am

Now, I need find way, how this modified aircraft publish on FGADDON, or FGMEMBERS.


This one is a bit knotty...

The Concorde is maintained by someone who has decided to remain completely anonymous to us - the commits usually go through Curt, so the best idea at this point would be to write a PM to Curt what to do - he's the only person who knows who the maintainer actually is.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11752
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:15 am

Thorsten :
Thank You, I will try PM to Curt.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:34 am

Here is really final version of the cockpit :

Image
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:53 am

Added some details - rudder pedals and smoke from overheated brakes.
Downloadable from https://github.com/BAWV12/Concorde
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby Octal450 » Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:52 pm

Very nice
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4716
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 8:06 pm

Small Conny meeting at EDDM - onboard British Airways G-BOAC and in the window You can see Air France F-BVFB (callsign F-WTSA) :

Image

... and taxi for IFR flight to EDDF visit another Concorde pilot :

Image
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:46 pm

Another step forward - I fixed fgtape bug with aircraft's gear. And I added effects and animations for landing and taxi light, reversers and afterburners. But most important fix is transfer properties over network, Now, Concorde is fully usable and animated in the multiplayer environment with working lights, contrails, AoA vapour effects over the wings, brake smoke and fire and some another minor details. Now, I'm in the testing phase.

EDIT :
Tested, should be fine.
Download at https://github.com/BAWV12/Concorde
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

PreviousNext

Return to Cockpit development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests