Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Cockpit development

Is there a way to make existing panel instruments smaller?  Topic is solved

Discussion about creating 2d and 3d cockpits.

Is there a way to make existing panel instruments smaller?

Postby xen_steda » Tue Mar 31, 2020 1:01 am

Hi there, I would like to add some instrument to an aircraft and some of the instruments are a bit large for the spots I would place them in. Is there a way to adjust the scale of these instrument files? Inside Flightgear itself would be great but any method would be appreciated. Thanks for any information on this.
xen_steda
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:53 pm

Re: Is there a way to make existing panel instruments smalle

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Mar 31, 2020 1:20 am

are you keeping the craft true to life? that's an important aspect to consider...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6966
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: Is there a way to make existing panel instruments smalle

Postby xen_steda » Tue Mar 31, 2020 10:04 am

I am, I'm only adding a few instruments based on photos of the cockpit interior. The plane as it is now is missing a good amount of them, I'm only looking to add a couple more.
xen_steda
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:53 pm

Re: Is there a way to make existing panel instruments smalle  

Postby D-ECHO » Tue Mar 31, 2020 10:15 am

You can use a scale animation, this is e.g. one I use to make 80mm instruments to 57mm as e.g. variometers in gliders sometimes have the one standard and sometimes the other:
Code: Select all
     <animation>
        <type>scale</type>
        <x-offset>0.7125</x-offset>
        <y-offset>0.7125</y-offset>
        <z-offset>0.7125</z-offset>
    </animation>

Put this into your instrument's .xml file. Giving no object-name means that it's applied to every object in the corresponding .ac file.
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 2151
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Is there a way to make existing panel instruments smalle

Postby xen_steda » Tue Mar 31, 2020 12:00 pm

Thanks a lot, I will be trying this out as soon as I can!...*time passes*...Yep, it works like a charm, thanks!
xen_steda
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:53 pm


Return to Cockpit development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest