Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Cockpit development

Bendix/King KAP 140 (Autopilot) rebuild

Discussion about creating 2d and 3d cockpits.

Bendix/King KAP 140 (Autopilot) rebuild

Postby WoodSTokk » Mon Nov 25, 2019 5:16 am

To all aircraft developers who want fit the KAP140 in his/her aircraft.
Here is the KAP140 completely rebuild (model, texture, animation).
It uses only property rules (no nasal).
Its a long growing version 1.0 (i have hard tested but maybe there are some glitches).
Every developer is welcome to download, implement and test.
Image
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: Bendix/King KAP 140 (Autopilot) rebuild

Postby wlbragg » Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:04 pm

Is this zip the most current revision?
Is there a GIT repo to follow anywhere?

I noticed a material animation at the end of kap140.xml that didn't appear to apply as it was designed around a "button" group that doesn't appear to exist in the .ac or Blender doesn't import it correctly?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5194
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Bendix/King KAP 140 (Autopilot) rebuild

Postby WoodSTokk » Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:09 pm

wlbragg wrote in Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:04 pm:Is this zip the most current revision?
Is there a GIT repo to follow anywhere?

No, there are improvements as i implement it on the PA28.
I will update the zip-file if the developement on the PA28 finish.
wlbragg wrote in Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:04 pm:I noticed a material animation at the end of kap140.xml that didn't appear to apply as it was designed around a "button" group that doesn't appear to exist in the .ac or Blender doesn't import it correctly?

This group is defined inside the xml-file direct at the top along (after the 'annunciators' group).
The 'button' group includes all buttons and can be used for backlighting effect.
The 'annunciators' group includes all display elements and can be used for brightness effect.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: Bendix/King KAP 140 (Autopilot) rebuild

Postby wlbragg » Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:22 pm

No, there are improvements as i implement it on the PA28.

Oh, well maybe that explains some of my issues. I'm not able to get power supplied and some of the alias paths just don't look correct to me.

I will update the zip-file if the developement on the PA28 finish.

Do you know when that might be?

Are you going to have revisions to the documentation?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5194
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Bendix/King KAP 140 (Autopilot) rebuild

Postby WoodSTokk » Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:51 pm

wlbragg wrote in Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:22 pm:
No, there are improvements as i implement it on the PA28.

Oh, well maybe that explains some of my issues. I'm not able to get power supplied and some of the alias paths just don't look correct to me.

Normally the developer create a property under '/systems/electrical/outputs/*' that represet the bus voltage or a property for every device.
In the kap140-config.xml you set 'power-supplied' that it points to that voltage property.
If the system deliver enough voltage the AP should come on and start with the PreFlightTest.
The property 'autopilot/kap140/config/power' should be set to the nominal power of that aircraft (mostly 12V or 24V).
You can set this property inside your *-set.xml file of your aircraft.

wlbragg wrote in Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:22 pm:
I will update the zip-file if the developement on the PA28 finish.

Do you know when that might be?

Are you going to have revisions to the documentation?

I'm currently working on the next update. Don't know if i find more glitches.
The important thing is that you build up your own PID filters (the control filter that fly the aircraft).
First i'm not really genius with that filters and second every aircraft has another characteristic.

I will update the documentation accordingly to reflect the changes.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: Bendix/King KAP 140 (Autopilot) rebuild

Postby wlbragg » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:04 pm

Normally the developer create a property under '/systems/electrical/outputs/*'

Yep, we have one and it is actually what you KAP defaults to. Yet I get nothing on the KAP.
I'm taking the rest of the configuration one step at a time after I get power to the device.

I pushed a branch to the c172p dev repository.

EDIT:
If you feel like getting involved in the setup, we could use the help.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5194
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Bendix/King KAP 140 (Autopilot) rebuild

Postby WoodSTokk » Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:13 am

I have downloaded the master branch from git and include the latest version of the KAP 140 (copied from my local PA28).
If you also have it copied from the PA28, there are 2 filters inside 'kap140-proprules.xml' with tests against 'options/autopilot'.
This tests make sure that the KAP 140 is selected in the PA28 configuration. You dont need this tests on the C172p.

The first filter in that file has the comment '<!-- reset if KAP 140 is not choosen -->'.
You can delete this filter completely.

Another filter has the comment '<!-- start the Pre-Flight-Test if the AP receive enough powered -->'.
In the enable condition you will find:
Code: Select all
                <equals>
                    <property>options/autopilot</property>
                    <value>KAP140</value>
                </equals>

Remove this 4 lines.

Other things:
The KAP140 make use of the autopilot-helper that will normally be loaded as 'autopilot n="1"'.
I see that this default file will be overwritten (c172p-set.xml).
I'm sure the KAP 140 doesn't need all of that, but some values are needed.
You can reactivate the helper or copy the needed filter from the helper to the kap140-autopilot.xml.

I have add a second altimeter (with number 1) inside 'Systems/instruments.xml' so that the KAP 140 is not tied to the steam gauge.

As the C172p has the sound configuration file in the main directory, you must add 'Sounds/' in front of the path to the sound file.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: Bendix/King KAP 140 (Autopilot) rebuild

Postby wlbragg » Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:27 pm

For anyone interested:

The new KAP140 is now installed in the following branch

https://github.com/c172p-team/c172p/tree/Issue-1302

We're looking for anyone with experience with this autopilot to put it through its paces and test for any issues or missing features.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5194
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480


Return to Cockpit development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest