Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Cockpit development

Concorde cockpit redesign

Discussion about creating 2d and 3d cockpits.

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 3:02 pm

i saw it the other day and thought immediately of you and how much you like the concorde... and the paint job is quite likable and beautifully done even though it is basically an advertisement...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5696
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Wed Nov 06, 2019 4:48 pm

Next small step - I'm testing new AP GlideSlope logic. Original mode had 2 nasty problems, when AP was swithched into Glide Slope Arm mode :
1. this mode disconnected altitude hold logic till aircraft catch GS, there was possibility to CFIT
2. flying procedure approach with specified waypoint altitude used default routemanager VNAV logic and start descent before aircraft catch GS

Now AP can perform perfect Autoland with MLW without problems. I need make more tests in rough weather. I will update GIT after all successful tests.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1574
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:23 pm

Test flights in bad weather revealed another nasty problem - autothrottle system can't hold airspeed in turbulences and gusty wind. I will try insert spike filter into A/T logic, first attempt looks promising.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1574
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:46 pm


Concorde’s autothrottles use longitudinal accelerometers to detect any changes in the aircrafts momentum. This allows them to see any changes in her airspeed almost before they happen, and therefore consequently movements of the throttles, although fast, are much smaller than one might expect, this means the control of speed is satisfyingly tight.


Sounds interesting, maybe if you implement it to compensate for speed changes using acceleration forwards or backwards, not airspeed?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7093
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Thu Nov 07, 2019 7:34 am

It should be possible, but it needs FDM at 1000HZ rate, not 120. I used simple spike filter to limit chaotic throttle changes, now with max-rate-of-change parameter set to 0.1. With this setup, aircraft is able hold speed even in the thunderstorm. For fine tuning I need more test flights in rough weather in mountains - Innsbruck, Sion, Samedan, Aosta or Paro.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1574
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Mon Nov 11, 2019 9:39 am

I added simple keyboard controller for NAV1 and NAV2 radio tuning :
F1 / Ctrl F1 - change NAV1 frequency in 1 MHz step
F2 / Ctrl F2 - step 0.05 MHz
Similar F4 and F5 for NAV2 radio
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1574
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Nov 11, 2019 4:14 pm

ummm... FWIW: on my linux installation with multiple desktops, CTRL-Fx are used to switch desktops so this key combination is no good for others with a setup similar to mine... i currently have eight desktops and can easily configure more...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5696
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby V12 » Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:16 pm

My all linux machines switching desktops with CTRL + ALT + LEFT/RIGHT arrows...
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1574
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde cockpit redesign

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:45 am

never used any like that... CTRL-ALT-Fx goes out of Xwindows to the base text consoles you get when Xwindows isn't even running... then ALT-Fx switches between those... if Xwindows is running, it is on terminal 7 so ALT-F7 switches you to tty7 and into graphics mode where you have your GUI and the desktops it may offer... it has been like this for me forever... i think, back in the early redhat days ;)

it may be GUI specific, though... i've been running KDE for as long as i can remember... either way, there'll be problems with using those keys, i'm sure... but you handle it as you want if you're the developer of the craft now...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5696
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Previous

Return to Cockpit development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest