Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Liveries

How do I install liveries for "preset" planes?  Topic is solved

Discussion of aircraft textures and liveries

How do I install liveries for "preset" planes?

Postby ferrari 1123 » Sun May 31, 2015 3:57 am

Hi Everyone,

I wanted to download a livery for the 777-300ER, but the "Aircrafts" folder that Flightgear created for me didn't come with the folders with the planes that are preset in Flightgear, such as the 777, Cessna 172p, etc.)

How can I install a livery for a plane that is "preset" in flightgear?

Thanks!
-Ferrari1123 (NUCLEUS)



- Mac OS X
- FGFS version 3.4
- NVIDIA GeForce 320M 256 MB
- Problem only occurs with "preset" aircraft
ferrari 1123
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 4:48 am
OS: Mac

Re: How do I install liveries for "preset" planes?

Postby clrCoda » Sun May 31, 2015 7:02 am

I'm going to assume that by "preset" you mean aircraft that come with a release version of flightgear.

It that be the case, then in 3.4 the 777-300 is in your fightgear program folder and under /data there will be an Aircraft folder. So something like

programfiles\flightgear<versionNumber>\data\Aircraft\777\Models\Liveries-300\ is where you would install the livery files.

Hope this helps and hope someone on MAC answers with the real folder, or that you can figure it out from what I put.

Best regards -- Ray
Ray St. Marie
clrCoda
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:04 am

Re: How do I install liveries for "preset" planes?  

Postby themadgreek » Sun May 31, 2015 12:37 pm

I see that your OS is mac.

Go to your applications folder, right click on FlightGear, select "show package contents"

Navigate to Contents > Resources > data > Aircraft.

Alternatively, if you can use your console: cd Applications/FlightGear.app/contents/resources/data/aircraft and then ls

You should have some planes in there, if not, let us know and we can point you to where you can get them.

Best,
Phil
themadgreek
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 3:43 am
Callsign: MD-GRK

Re: How do I install liveries for "preset" planes?

Postby ferrari 1123 » Sun May 31, 2015 5:38 pm

Thanks Phil, this solved my problem :D, so many liveries for the 777...how do i choose just one?? :mrgreen:

-Ferrari1123 (NUCLEUS)
ferrari 1123
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 4:48 am
OS: Mac

Re: How do I install liveries for "preset" planes?

Postby themadgreek » Wed Jun 03, 2015 8:11 pm

Glad to hear it worked.

Feel free to send me a message if you have any other problems. Quite often they have different solutions depending on OS.

Best,
Phil
themadgreek
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 3:43 am
Callsign: MD-GRK

Re: How do I install liveries for "preset" planes?

Postby TCX2473 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:44 pm

Hi Phil,
I did the instructions you said above. However, when I open the 'Aircraft' folder, the only folders are:
'C172P' 'Generic' 'Instruments' 'Instruments-3d' 'ufo'
Do you know what is wrong, or what folder i should open?
Kind regards,
TCX2473
User avatar
TCX2473
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:36 pm
Callsign: TCX2473
Version: 3.4
OS: Mac OSX

Re: How do I install liveries for "preset" planes?

Postby themadgreek » Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:11 am

Inside of 'C172P' you will find /models/liveries where you can install liveries for the Cessna 172P.

Generic, Instruments, and Instruments-3D are not aircrafts, they're just shared instruments and other stuff that many different planes use.

I would recommend installing some more of the planes that the community has built :)
themadgreek
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 3:43 am
Callsign: MD-GRK

Re: How do I install liveries for "preset" planes?

Postby TCX2473 » Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:36 pm

Thank you!!
User avatar
TCX2473
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:36 pm
Callsign: TCX2473
Version: 3.4
OS: Mac OSX

Re: How do I install liveries for "preset" planes?

Postby TCX2473 » Sat Apr 22, 2017 5:48 pm

hi, sorry about this,
i downloaded a boeing 757 from flightgear, however my computer (macbook) won't let me paste it into th 'aircraft' folder. any tips?
thanks, best regards
Tcx2473
User avatar
TCX2473
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:36 pm
Callsign: TCX2473
Version: 3.4
OS: Mac OSX

Re: How do I install liveries for "preset" planes?

Postby TCX2473 » Sat Aug 05, 2017 7:28 pm

themadgreek wrote in Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:11 am:Inside of 'C172P' you will find /models/liveries where you can install liveries for the Cessna 172P.

Generic, Instruments, and Instruments-3D are not aircrafts, they're just shared instruments and other stuff that many different planes use.

I would recommend installing some more of the planes that the community has built :)


I installed all of my aircraft in-game, yet they don't appear in the folder:(
sorry
User avatar
TCX2473
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:36 pm
Callsign: TCX2473
Version: 3.4
OS: Mac OSX

Re: How do I install liveries for "preset" planes?

Postby nowres » Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:44 pm

Hello,

You can find all installed Aircrafts data in:
C:\Users\{User}\Documents\FlightGear\Aircraft\org.flightgear.fgaddon\Aircraft\
nowres
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:42 pm


Return to Liveries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest