Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Liveries

How to make a livery?

Discussion of aircraft textures and liveries

How to make a livery?

Postby angels6 » Wed Aug 13, 2008 12:37 am

hey, im pretty new to flightgear, i want to start designing some liveries but i have no clue as to how i can make them?
can anyone tell me what to do? thanks
angels6
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 10:16 pm

Re: How to make a livery?

Postby xsaint » Wed Aug 13, 2008 12:50 am

Hi...

First of all welcome to FG..... :)
Second, most of us are lost when we first start, searching high and low on "how to" topics.... :)
So no worries....anyway the information as i said are dispersed around the globe and each of us will take what we know best to complete the task....

Coming to your question..."How to make a livery", here is a nice link which can help you

http://wiki.flightgear.org/index.php?ti ... t_a_livery


Cheers!
FlightGear Add Ons Can Be Be Downloaded From http://www.unitedfreeworld.com
Get Latest Updates Via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/unitedfreeworld
xsaint
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:59 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: xsaint
Version: 2.10
OS: Windows, Linux

Re: How to make a livery?

Postby angels6 » Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:04 am

thanks :)
angels6
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 10:16 pm

Re: How to make a livery?

Postby DFaber » Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:42 am

Hi angels6,

xsaint wrote:Coming to your question..."How to make a livery", here is a nice link which can help you

http://wiki.flightgear.org/index.php?ti ... t_a_livery



Well, this is not the best method to implement different Liveries. Look at the Lightning, bf109, b1900, bo105, ec135, S-76 and some others which can change Liveries during runtime. Here you just make a set of textures and edit an XML file to add it to the Livery select dialog. This has some advantages over the approach taken in the above article:

-you don't have to fill up your Aircraft list (and harddisk) with tons of airplanes which only differ in Livery.

-save some tedious copying and file editing

-Pilots on Multiplayer are able to see you, even if they don't have the Livery set installed your using (your Aircraft will appear all white for them).

-can be easily submitted to FlightGear

However Aircraft which don't yet have a Livery select option require some further action, but asking here or on the developers Mailing list will surely give help on how to do it.
I don't think any Aircraft author would object (if the livery isn't too ugly ;-).


Greetings
Detlef Faber
FlightGear Development:
http://flightgear-de.net

German FlightGear Forum
http://forum.flightgear-de.net
DFaber
 
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 7:51 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany
Version: GIT
OS: Linux

Re: How to make a livery?

Postby Gijs » Wed Aug 13, 2008 3:59 pm

DFaber wrote:Well, this is not the best method to implement different Liveries.
That's correct, that's why it's called EDIT a livery. But you could use some parts (which describe how to edit the texture files).
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9365
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: How to make a livery?

Postby angels6 » Thu Aug 14, 2008 1:15 am

hey, so i gave it a shot; i started but putting my callsign on an airplane, the c310 in this case, i followed all the instructions the link provided but when i went and checked how my livery came out, the windows and prop turned black :evil: do you know what could have cause this? could i have missed a step?
angels6
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 10:16 pm


Return to Liveries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest