Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Liveries

SAA paint for any modelled aircraft

Discussion of aircraft textures and liveries

SAA paint for any modelled aircraft

Postby Natovr » Thu Jul 31, 2008 6:30 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/South_Afri ... ways#Fleet
As you can see from the link above, the SAA fleet has only one passanger aircraft modelled in FG (almost). But its 800 horsepower o.O how do I modify a 747-400 to 747-800? Do I have to remodel the engines or something?

I can do a planned cargo aircraft if this isn't possible, but I would rather like to use existing aircraft.

PS: This site says something different... http://www.airfleets.net/flottecie/Sout ... irways.htm
it says that SAA has 747s o.O which one is right?
EDIT: The 737-800 is a next gen aircraft with a different cockpit ><" I think I'll paint a cargo plane.
Callsign: ZS-NVR (mil/priv)IVA-003 (com)
Part of Island Virtual Airways, one of Flightgear's
Natovr
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:11 am
Location: United Queendom

Re: SAA paint for any modelled aircraft

Postby Natovr » Fri Aug 01, 2008 11:27 am

Anyone?

Also, how do I "pull" the text from an aircraft? The logo is too thick compared to the text on the aircraft. And I can't find the font for free. Cathay Pacific seems to use the same font just a bit thicker... and British Airways' font seems a tiny bit like it too but the S isn't the same.
Callsign: ZS-NVR (mil/priv)IVA-003 (com)
Part of Island Virtual Airways, one of Flightgear's
Natovr
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:11 am
Location: United Queendom

Re: SAA paint for any modelled aircraft

Postby gooneybird » Fri Aug 01, 2008 2:38 pm

Natovr wrote:Anyone?

Also, how do I "pull" the text from an aircraft? The logo is too thick compared to the text on the aircraft. And I can't find the font for free. Cathay Pacific seems to use the same font just a bit thicker... and British Airways' font seems a tiny bit like it too but the S isn't the same.


I do mine in Inkscape (http://www.inkscape.org/), but any vector drawing program should do.

Find the best picture you can and open it in your program, create a new layer, then trace the logo or text, and export as a file type that your graphic program can use.
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: SAA paint for any modelled aircraft

Postby Natovr » Fri Aug 01, 2008 5:38 pm

Thanks, got this lucky one :) the only one really close to the name

http://www.planepictures.net/netshow.php?id=488169
Callsign: ZS-NVR (mil/priv)IVA-003 (com)
Part of Island Virtual Airways, one of Flightgear's
Natovr
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:11 am
Location: United Queendom

Re: SAA paint for any modelled aircraft

Postby gooneybird » Fri Aug 01, 2008 7:34 pm

Natovr wrote:Thanks, got this lucky one :) the only one really close to the name

http://www.planepictures.net/netshow.php?id=488169


That'll do nicely.
Another thing I do is make a copy of the windows and doors (or make new ones) and remove the background, save as a transparent png. That way if you have any text or markings around the windows, you don't have to worry about covering them, you can just paste them back in afterwards.
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: SAA paint for any modelled aircraft

Postby Natovr » Fri Aug 01, 2008 8:03 pm

ok, thanks for the tips :D
Callsign: ZS-NVR (mil/priv)IVA-003 (com)
Part of Island Virtual Airways, one of Flightgear's
Natovr
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:11 am
Location: United Queendom

Re: SAA paint for any modelled aircraft

Postby Natovr » Sat Aug 02, 2008 1:40 pm

Just completed it :D sent it off to xsaint
Callsign: ZS-NVR (mil/priv)IVA-003 (com)
Part of Island Virtual Airways, one of Flightgear's
Natovr
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:11 am
Location: United Queendom

Re: SAA paint for any modelled aircraft

Postby MD-Terp » Mon Aug 04, 2008 2:12 am

Did I get a corrupted copy? The front texture seems to be missing...
Image
Cheers,
-Rob.

"Retired" from FlightGear involvement as of July 2010.
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=8809
User avatar
MD-Terp
 
Posts: 2420
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:37 am
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Callsign: N531MD, AVA0025

Re: SAA paint for any modelled aircraft

Postby R-Dude » Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:05 am

MD-Terp wrote:Did I get a corrupted copy? The front texture seems to be missing...
Image


The same thing happened to me. The nose of the plane isn't textured on my copy.
IRC: R-Dude
Favorite aircraft: Lockheed 1049H Constellation, Ilyushin IL-96
Favorite airports: KATL, KIND, anywhere I haven't flown before!
User avatar
R-Dude
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 9:32 pm
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: SAA paint for any modelled aircraft

Postby Natovr » Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:19 pm

yes, it appears i haven't put the front texture in... I'll check my package.


XSaint, why can't I see my model on the site? and they can? O_o

EDIT: I sent the fixed one now.
Callsign: ZS-NVR (mil/priv)IVA-003 (com)
Part of Island Virtual Airways, one of Flightgear's
Natovr
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:11 am
Location: United Queendom

Re: SAA paint for any modelled aircraft

Postby xsaint » Mon Aug 11, 2008 11:59 pm

Ok the fixed one is uploaded on www.unitedfreeworld.com

SAA 747 has always been on UFW together with other 7474 liveries...mmm.....i will make it more accessibly now as i am modifying something on the navigations. :)

Thank you pal....cheers!
FlightGear Add Ons Can Be Be Downloaded From http://www.unitedfreeworld.com
Get Latest Updates Via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/unitedfreeworld
xsaint
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:59 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: xsaint
Version: 2.10
OS: Windows, Linux


Return to Liveries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests