Board index FlightGear Support Installation

How to change Language of game

Need help getting up and running? Installing FlightGear, add-on planes, sceneries etc.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

How to change Language of game

Postby KingTVB » Fri May 24, 2019 2:06 pm

Hello i wan,t to change ther language of FlightGear to German but i don,t know how to do this please help me

PS: Sorry for my bad English

LG KingTVB
KingTVB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 2:01 pm

Re: How to change Language of game

Postby WoodSTokk » Fri May 24, 2019 3:28 pm

What OS you are using? FG looks at the language setting from the user account and use this language.
If you use Linux and has set a different language that you won't change, use:
Code: Select all
LANG=de_DE; fgfs --launcher

This tells the shell you want switch to german as it will be spoken in Germany and start FG in this setting.
This leave your user account untouched.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: How to change Language of game

Postby KingTVB » Fri May 24, 2019 5:10 pm

helllo im using windows 10 it is on German but the Game is still in English
KingTVB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 2:01 pm

Re: How to change Language of game

Postby wkitty42 » Fri May 24, 2019 7:54 pm

what version of FG are you using? please provide the full version number and not a short-cut...

eg:
2018.3.2 <- good
3.2 <- bad
18.3.2 <- bad
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5634
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: How to change Language of game

Postby KingTVB » Fri May 24, 2019 8:26 pm

2018.3.2 the latest one
KingTVB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 2:01 pm

Re: How to change Language of game

Postby rominet » Sat May 25, 2019 3:26 pm

Since the change to new translation infrastructure, no one volunteered to review the German translation, so all strings are still in English. This is not difficult, but some person speaking German has to review and approve every translated string using Qt Linguist (see here). Approving just means pressing Alt-Enter, but a handful of things need human review, that's why it hasn't been automatically done when we switched to this system.

Also, I would use a correct locale name:
Code: Select all
LANG=de_DE.UTF-8 fgfs --launcher

I don't think de_DE is correct as a POSIX locale name. Besides, don't put a semi-colon after LANG=de_DE.UTF-8, that's completely different (you would be setting a variable for the whole shell duration... and not export it!).

An alternative is:
Code: Select all
fgfs --langage=de_DE --launcher

or just '--langage=de'. The encoding isn't necessary here: it's not a locale name.

For now, you can see correct translations with: Italian (it), Dutch (nl), Spanish (es). I believe Chinese (zh_CN) works in recent versions, but there was a difficulty due to font support. It's possible that it only works in development versions, maybe only partially. The French translation (fr) is okay, except the built-in launcher hasn't been translated yet (needs some volunteer).
rominet
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:33 pm
Callsign: F-KATS
Version: Git next
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: How to change Language of game

Postby roberto.jobet » Tue May 28, 2019 9:21 pm

Hi everybody,
Similar problem here, but in my case I would like to have it in English (currently it's set in Italian, as I'm using an Italian localized OS...).

FG ver. 2018.3.2 and Windows 10 (64bit).

Thanks!

Regards,
Roberto
roberto.jobet
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 8:50 pm

Re: How to change Language of game

Postby wkitty42 » Wed May 29, 2019 1:43 am

the post right above your's explains a couple of methods you can use to force your desired language... have you tried any of them?
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5634
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron