Board index FlightGear Support Installation

Airports placed in wrong locations.  Topic is solved

Need help getting up and running? Installing FlightGear, add-on planes, sceneries etc.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Airports placed in wrong locations.

Postby JohmWy411 » Fri May 26, 2017 1:43 am

Hi, I am new to Flightgear. Really enjoying it, but I am having troubles with the scenery. Was flying in Canada yesterday, in fairly populated areas. Most of the villages did not register at all, they were just replaced as standard vegetation, which is very boring. This is a side question, but how can you set it up so that it shows me satellite images instead?

However, I had a bigger issue than that. The airport that I was to arrive at was completely displaced. I tuned in the ILS frequency, put it on Autopilot, got lined up perfectly, but for some reason the actual airport was 1 nm earlier than what the ILS would have located me to. In fact, all the 3 airports I have tried to land on were misplaced according to my map and also to Skyvector, in near proximity.

I am currently using the automatic Terra-Sync to download scenery. Did I do something wrong there? The airports only had runways, but no parking spaces / buildings. The entire city was replaced with the default vegetation. This is a very frustrating obstacle to come across.

Is this simply because Flightgear has not modelled such areas yet? Can I do anything about it?
JohmWy411

Callsign: ZVF-000

Re: Airports placed in wrong locations.  

Postby VicMar » Fri May 26, 2017 7:59 am