Board index FlightGear Multiplayer events

Detect Multiplayer collision

Virtual fly-ins, fun flies, competitions, and other group events. Find out details of upcoming events, register for competitions, or organize your own tour of a favorite location.

Detect Multiplayer collision

Postby Raj » Sun Dec 27, 2020 4:34 am

Hi, I am new to flight gear. I have noticed that during multiplayer or even single player, those aircraft can go through each other without colliding each other.
Is there any function to enable or disable this? Noticed that AI aircrafts, most of the buldings, hangers, etc can able to fly through without colliding.
Thanks in advance.
Raj

Re: Detect Multiplayer collision

Postby jomo » Sun Dec 27, 2020 10:19 am

Yes there is/was a "real" colliding!
I as ATC am glade that by default that is disabled - because there are more and more little idiots (of course mostly flying jets!) that need colliding with others to feel great - especially if others do not want to "play" with idiots!!
jomo / ATCjomo + EDDFjo + EDDFjo1 + EDDFjo2
ATC at EDDF Fr,Sa,Su,We from 20:00 to 24:00 CET/MEZ., see http://www.emmerich-j.de
jomo

Callsign: jomo EDDFjo1+2

Postby Hooray » Sun Dec 27, 2020 12:25 pm

you could certainly compute a bounding box/sphere for different aircraft and then do some collision detection fgfs/fgms-side - animating the whole thing or modeling actual crash behavior is a completely different issue though. However, you could definitely hack fgms to drop clients once they "collide" or modify fgfs to automatically return to the original airport/runway (basically a reset/reposition)

Many of these things could be implemented without requiring C++ changes - and even collision detection could be only executed for aircraft that are within a certain given range, so that there's not too much overhead for aircraft outside the given range - you could use Nasal or property rules for this kind of scheme