Board index FlightGear Multiplayer events

World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:00Z|  Topic is solved

Virtual fly-ins, fun flies, competitions, and other group events. Find out details of upcoming events, register for competitions, or organize your own tour of a favorite location.

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby Octal450 » Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:50 pm

Image
Image

Kind Regards,
Josh
Free Speech? Hell yeah! Free Software? Hell NO!
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby V12 » Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:18 pm

Thank You all pilots for perfect flight. Some screenshots :

Image

Image

Image

Image
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby Octal450 » Sun Apr 07, 2019 7:02 pm

Hi John,
No worries, I already forgot it :)

Kind Regards,
Josh
Free Speech? Hell yeah! Free Software? Hell NO!
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby Octal450 » Sun Apr 07, 2019 8:15 pm

Of course!
Hope you'll make it to the next leg!
Josh
Free Speech? Hell yeah! Free Software? Hell NO!
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby Octal450 » Sun Apr 07, 2019 8:35 pm

That is weird. I saw everyone. Maybe they stopped including that folder with the default Launcher. Perhaps try adding the path to the Launcher in Add-Ons, Additional Aircraft Locations, then select the folder that you put all the planes inside. That should fix it.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Free Speech? Hell yeah! Free Software? Hell NO!
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby Octal450 » Sun Apr 07, 2019 8:50 pm

John,
That is because the A330 from "trunk" and and "fgaddon" are the old ones, and the third one was my new one (assumably). They aren't compatible with each other.

FG itself works fine, you just have to tell it where too look for aircraft. (And did you remember to remove -master if it was from github? github adds it automatically)

And yes, my solution solves this problem directly.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Free Speech? Hell yeah! Free Software? Hell NO!
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby Octal450 » Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:40 pm

It literally takes 1 or 2 extra steps from a 3rd party hanger, and downloading thru the official launcher is exactly as the wiki says. Pardon if I don't understand how that is "BULLSHIT". In this case the "easy way", launcher A330 is not compatible with the one being flown on the event. Hence why that one didn't work. You said you installed the 33X, you probably didn't follow the 2 steps in INSTALL.md, or didn't add your custom path to your launcher.

Since you aren't open to advice, I can't help you further.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Free Speech? Hell yeah! Free Software? Hell NO!
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby Octal450 » Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:21 pm

This is exactly the reason why FG users leave FG to go to FSX or X-plane, Josh.

Not in my experience and I own P3D (upgraded FSX) and XP11, its actually much worse since you have to deal with product keys and activation and such
Josh
Free Speech? Hell yeah! Free Software? Hell NO!
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:39 pm

FlyingHigh wrote in Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:01 pm:Dear Josh hope you understand:


But when doing all that, and even going the extra mile, such as downloading the aircraft not into only one hangar but into three hangars, still the aircraft appears as a "blue glider" .



By "hangars", what exactly do you mean here?

Did you try adding a custom aircraft folder specified on the add-ons tab of the launcher, then installing the IDG-A33X folder to that custom aircraft folder?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7000
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby Octal450 » Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:12 am

I won't tell you that because it doesn't. Obviously if you download a plane from the wiki or somewhere and put it in a random place on your hard drive, it won't show up, because FG doesn't know where it is. So, you either put it in a folder that FG knows (data/Aircraft, or something) or tell FG where you put your planes. I put all mine in Desktop\Aircraft, so I told FG to look in Desktop\Aircraft (about 5 clicks), and from then on, every plane I put in that folder automatically shows up.

There is nothing wrong with FG.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Free Speech? Hell yeah! Free Software? Hell NO!
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby wlbragg » Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:26 am

When the end-user downloads an aircraft from the FGADDON hangar, then , from that point forward, that aircraft model should appear for the user when he or she runs Flightgear in Multiplayer mode.
But it does not.


John, of course it does not and never will as simply as you expect. One reason is that different versions of the same aircraft exist and usually only one of those version exist in fgaddon. Also that fgaddon doesn't contain every aircraft that exists out there and never will. A third reason is that not all aircraft are properly set up for multilayer. So the WIki was summarizing the basic idea even if fairly poorly. The bottom line is, you have to have the same exact aircraft downloaded (with exception to even this). When the document was written it very well may have been when all aircraft were in the same location and it was written with the assumption that we are dealing only with aircraft in this same repository. Things change over time! Your looking at the project and all thing in it with tunnel vision.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4874
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby V12 » Mon Apr 08, 2019 6:17 am

wlbragg :
It should be simply as it is described on the Wiki. But it doesn't. On this forum exists threads about blue-yellow gliders in MP. Really something sometime doesn't works as expected. But aircrafts downloaded from other locations (git, fgmembers, fguk etc) are special cases with manual intervences needed - for example remove -master from folder name.

John :
What Concorde did You downoaded ? Default FGADDON, or custom model from my git ? Can You select this plane from launcher ?

Image

Early evening I will describe my aircraft folder configuration with allow me to see other MP models. As You can see, I have not B/Y gliders there are all MP models - small bizjet Citation II, Constellation (with #1 in flame, but in reality was engine OK, I have old version of that plane), taxiing MD 11, large Bus 330 and behind him smaller 320, only vertical stabilizer is visible.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby V12 » Mon Apr 08, 2019 6:20 pm

I changed my standard download location to folder FG/fgdata/
Then restarted FGFS, sim created other folders, especialy default aircraft folder is FG/FGDATA/Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon/Aircraft
Additional aircrafts I installed into FG/FGDATA/Aircraft
In the launcher's tab Addons I configured additional aircraft folder to FG/FGDATA/Aircraft

In result, I can see all models. But something is wrong, because :

Image

Image

Image

One XB70 can see other XB70 and Citation X, but Citation X can't see XB70. XB70 is in default aircraft directory FG/FGDATA/Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon/Aircraft, Citation X in FG/FGDATA/Aircraft
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby Octal450 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:46 am

You are doing something wrong, and not taking the advice required to fix it. I gave you the same info I gave to a noob new to FG (and not great with computers) just last week, and he sees models.

Josh
Free Speech? Hell yeah! Free Software? Hell NO!
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: World's Challenging Approaches - 12 |SEQU|06-04-2019|16:

Postby V12 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:41 am

FlyingHigh wrote in Tue Apr 09, 2019 3:05 am:...if you see something that needs to be fixed, fix it yourself." bullshit response.

It is not bullshit, but standard OpenSource community answer on all world. I very dislike that answer too and solved it by payware and I'm fully satisfied.

But back to the problem with Y/B gliders :
I made some tests with FG 2018.3.1 and found that aircrafts downloaded in launcher really have problems in MP. After download, shut down FG and move that installed aircrafts from ...Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon/Aircraft to Your folder with aircrafts, don't forget config launcher to use that folder as additional aircraft folder. It should works, In my case, it works on 3 machines with Ubuntu, I need make test with Win7.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

PreviousNext

Return to Multiplayer events

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests