Board index FlightGear Support Tools FGCom

FGCom

FGCom is a realtime voice communication system specially designed for FlightGear.

FGCom

Postby TSSHayden » Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:50 am

Heloo guys i have just signed up and i want to use FGcom for a rescue Rpg on mpserver05. Long story short the wiki tuts are so confusing to me so can some one make a simple one for me. thanks so much
Callsigns: TSS, TSS2, Rescue
Favorite planes: V22 Osprey, BeechCraft, Santa
TSSHayden
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:47 am

Re: FGCom

Postby Tuxklok » Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:08 am

What problem are you having exactly, where are you stuck? Also, what platform are you on?
The Austria Scenery Project - more info
fg-scenery-tools - gitorious | videos
fgcomgui - Open source, cross platform, gui front end for fgcom. more info

More random musings and doings can be found on my personal site. (work in progress)
User avatar
Tuxklok
 
Posts: 1326
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Callsign: Tuxklok / N1292P
OS: GNU/Linux

Re: FGCom

Postby TSSHayden » Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:11 am

the launching with fgfs
Callsigns: TSS, TSS2, Rescue
Favorite planes: V22 Osprey, BeechCraft, Santa
TSSHayden
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:47 am

Re: FGCom

Postby TSSHayden » Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:15 am

im stuck on using it with fgfs and im runing windows xp
Callsigns: TSS, TSS2, Rescue
Favorite planes: V22 Osprey, BeechCraft, Santa
TSSHayden
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:47 am

Re: FGCom

Postby Tuxklok » Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:40 am

Download fgcomgui from --> http://code.google.com/p/fgcomgui/
Detailed instructions for unpacking/installing --> http://code.google.com/p/fgcomgui/wiki/ ... stallation
Run fgcomgui and go to "Help -> HTML Docs" for documentation for using and configuring flightgear.

If you have any specific problem, let me know.
The Austria Scenery Project - more info
fg-scenery-tools - gitorious | videos
fgcomgui - Open source, cross platform, gui front end for fgcom. more info

More random musings and doings can be found on my personal site. (work in progress)
User avatar
Tuxklok
 
Posts: 1326
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Callsign: Tuxklok / N1292P
OS: GNU/Linux

Re: FGCom

Postby TSSHayden » Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:45 am

well how do i set the frenquency?
Callsigns: TSS, TSS2, Rescue
Favorite planes: V22 Osprey, BeechCraft, Santa
TSSHayden
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:47 am

Re: FGCom

Postby Tuxklok » Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:59 am

TSSHayden wrote:well how do i set the frenquency?

It uses the frequency from your comm1 radio in flightgear.
The Austria Scenery Project - more info
fg-scenery-tools - gitorious | videos
fgcomgui - Open source, cross platform, gui front end for fgcom. more info

More random musings and doings can be found on my personal site. (work in progress)
User avatar
Tuxklok
 
Posts: 1326
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Callsign: Tuxklok / N1292P
OS: GNU/Linux

Re: FGCom

Postby TSSHayden » Mon Dec 21, 2009 5:01 am

how do i set it up in radio??
Callsigns: TSS, TSS2, Rescue
Favorite planes: V22 Osprey, BeechCraft, Santa
TSSHayden
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:47 am

Re: FGCom

Postby stuart » Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:06 am

Configuring the radio depends on the aircraft, just like in real life.

However, you can also configure the frequency using GUI under Equipment->Radios.

Note that there are two frequencies for each COM radio. One is the "Active" and the other is "Standby". Normally you configure the Standby frequency and then use a switch to swap the frequencies with each other. This allows you to continue to use one frequency while configuring another.

-Stuart
G-MWLX
User avatar
stuart
Moderator
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:56 am
Location: Edinburgh
Callsign: G-MWLX

Re: FGCom

Postby TSSHayden » Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:35 pm

thanks stuart i will try
Callsigns: TSS, TSS2, Rescue
Favorite planes: V22 Osprey, BeechCraft, Santa
TSSHayden
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:47 am

Re: FGCom

Postby TSSHayden » Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:41 pm

stuart wrote:Configuring the radio depends on the aircraft


i use a V22 Osprey so does that help?
Callsigns: TSS, TSS2, Rescue
Favorite planes: V22 Osprey, BeechCraft, Santa
TSSHayden
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:47 am

Re: FGCom

Postby TSSHayden » Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:45 pm

can you post some screen shots hot to configure because im a visual person o and do i have to open port 16661? and if i do what does it use UDP or TCP or both?
Last edited by TSSHayden on Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Callsigns: TSS, TSS2, Rescue
Favorite planes: V22 Osprey, BeechCraft, Santa
TSSHayden
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:47 am

Re: FGCom

Postby Tuxklok » Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:48 pm

TSSHayden wrote:can you post some screen shots hot to configure because im a visual person

Come on now, are you even trying? Like stuart said, you can open the radio dialog from the Equipment menu...or you can use the shortcut F12. FGCOM uses the comm1 radio frequency.
The Austria Scenery Project - more info
fg-scenery-tools - gitorious | videos
fgcomgui - Open source, cross platform, gui front end for fgcom. more info

More random musings and doings can be found on my personal site. (work in progress)
User avatar
Tuxklok
 
Posts: 1326
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Callsign: Tuxklok / N1292P
OS: GNU/Linux

Re: FGCom

Postby TSSHayden » Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:51 pm

what frequency do i use and do i have to open port 16661? and if i have to UDP or TCP or both?
Callsigns: TSS, TSS2, Rescue
Favorite planes: V22 Osprey, BeechCraft, Santa
TSSHayden
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:47 am

Re: FGCom

Postby TSSHayden » Mon Dec 21, 2009 5:21 pm

i got it to work YAY
Callsigns: TSS, TSS2, Rescue
Favorite planes: V22 Osprey, BeechCraft, Santa
TSSHayden
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:47 am


Return to FGCom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests