Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

Generic Shader

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Generic Shader

Postby Omega » Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:55 pm

Today I updated my git. I know, it's not 2.6.0 but it's close to it.
Anyway, here's what I got:
Image

The problem only appears when the generic shader is enabled. If I disable it, then everything is normal. I also get very low framerate (~13 FPS) when I enable it.

My system:

OS: Windows 7 64bit
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1045T 2.70 GHz
GPU: AMD RADEON HD 6450
RAM: 8GB
FG: git/2.7.0
The engine is the heart of an aeroplane, but the pilot is its soul.
User avatar
Omega
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 1:46 pm
Callsign: Star,EHAM_CT,MIA0176
IRC name: Omega
Version: GIT
OS: Vista,7,Ubuntu 10.04

Re: Generic Shader

Postby Gijs » Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:00 pm

Could you take a screenshot from a higher altitude, so we can see what landclasses are affected? And there's no output in the console when you enable the shader?
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400, DC-2, F-117, Jetman, L1011-500
FlightGear Liveries
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 7

Re: Generic Shader

Postby Omega » Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:08 pm

Now FG doesn't even start, I tried different aircrafts and locations but it always stops loading in loading scenery and it shows on the right-bottom corner the framerate counter saying 0 FPS :| .
Here's my console:
Image
The engine is the heart of an aeroplane, but the pilot is its soul.
User avatar
Omega
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 1:46 pm
Callsign: Star,EHAM_CT,MIA0176
IRC name: Omega
Version: GIT
OS: Vista,7,Ubuntu 10.04

Re: Generic Shader

Postby Gijs » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:01 pm

Hm, IIRC I've only seen those Unknown Chunk errors with the A380...

Anyway, you might need to delete your autosave.xml in order to "reset" the settings (shader settings are saved after quitting). In the ocassion that a shader is indeed crashing FlightGear.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400, DC-2, F-117, Jetman, L1011-500
FlightGear Liveries
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 7

Re: Generic Shader

Postby Omega » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:06 pm

Where's autosave.xml located? I didn't know FG had an autosave feature :D .
The engine is the heart of an aeroplane, but the pilot is its soul.
User avatar
Omega
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 1:46 pm
Callsign: Star,EHAM_CT,MIA0176
IRC name: Omega
Version: GIT
OS: Vista,7,Ubuntu 10.04

Re: Generic Shader

Postby i4dnf » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:07 pm

Could you test with the UFO at KSFO and report back. Also if possible post 2 screenshots one with the shader enabled one with it disabled.
And again some log output.
Last edited by i4dnf on Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
i4dnf
Retired
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:17 am
Location: LRBS
Callsign: YR-I4D
Version: GIT
OS: Gentoo Linux ~amd64

Re: Generic Shader

Postby Gijs » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:09 pm

C:/Users/.../AppData/Roaming/flightgear.org/autosave.xml
Any property that has userarchive="y" set (eg. in preferences.xml, or -set.xml) will be saved on quiting. Do note that closing FG with the Windows X does not save anything. Only Esc or File > Quit do ;)

EDIT: Looks like models are also affected. The terminals seem to miss quite some faces...
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400, DC-2, F-117, Jetman, L1011-500
FlightGear Liveries
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 7

Re: Generic Shader

Postby Omega » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:28 pm

Shader Enabled:
Image
Shader Disabled:
Image

I can also upload a video if you want to.
The engine is the heart of an aeroplane, but the pilot is its soul.
User avatar
Omega
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 1:46 pm
Callsign: Star,EHAM_CT,MIA0176
IRC name: Omega
Version: GIT
OS: Vista,7,Ubuntu 10.04

Re: Generic Shader

Postby i4dnf » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:49 pm

a complete log output would be more helpful than a video.
i4dnf
Retired
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:17 am
Location: LRBS
Callsign: YR-I4D
Version: GIT
OS: Gentoo Linux ~amd64

Re: Generic Shader

Postby Omega » Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:42 am

@i4dnf: Is there any way to copy what is written in the console window? Because I can't fit everything in a screenshot.
The engine is the heart of an aeroplane, but the pilot is its soul.
User avatar
Omega
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 1:46 pm
Callsign: Star,EHAM_CT,MIA0176
IRC name: Omega
Version: GIT
OS: Vista,7,Ubuntu 10.04

Re: Generic Shader

Postby sgofferj » Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:56 am

Use "fgfs > fgfs_console.txt". Then all output goes to fgfs_console.txt.
FG 3.1 GIT / Opensuse 12.3 / Phenom II X4 / GForce GTX560
Stefan's little Flightgear corner | The Finnish Weather Center | Wolves in Finland

Working on: EFTP
COM: IAX2:home.gofferje.net/stefan (MO-FR 0700-2000 UTC, SA+SU 0900-2000 UTC)
sgofferj
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: EFTP
Callsign: OH-SW
Version: 3.1 GIT
OS: Opensuse

Re: Generic Shader

Postby Gijs » Tue Feb 21, 2012 7:07 am

Click the C:/ icon in the top left.corner of the console dialogue. Gives you some select/copy options under Edit.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400, DC-2, F-117, Jetman, L1011-500
FlightGear Liveries
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 7

Re: Generic Shader

Postby Thorsten » Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:30 am

It's probably default.vert/default.frag which cause the issues.

-> when he has shaders on, landclasses which have their own shader (urban, landmass, crop, clouds...) work fine, the other's don't

-> when he has shaders off, these objects appear

-> I'm not sure about water, if there is supposed to be water in the Shader Enabled screenshot or not

Although default.vert/default.frag are rather simple-minded objects and don't actually do much...
Thorsten
 
Posts: 3340
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Generic Shader

Postby Omega » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:33 pm

Ok, I tried to run FG with Generic Shader disabled at first and then I ran it again with the shader enabled, I copied both console windows but unfortunately, the log output is the same for both.

Here's what I got:
Code: Select all
loading scenario 'nimitz_demo'
Image "C:/Users/Omega/Flightgear/data/fgdata/Textures/Water/waves-ver10-nm.dd
s"
uses compressed textures which cannot be supported on some systems.
Please decompress this texture for improved portability.
Image "C:/Users/Omega/Flightgear/data/fgdata/Textures/Water/water_sine_nmap.d
ds"
uses compressed textures which cannot be supported on some systems.
Please decompress this texture for improved portability.
PNG lib warning : Malformed iTXt chunk
Image "C:/Users/Omega/Flightgear/data/fgdata/Textures/Water/sea_foam.dds"
uses compressed textures which cannot be supported on some systems.
Please decompress this texture for improved portability.
Image "C:/Users/Omega/Flightgear/data/fgdata/Textures/Water/perlin-noise-nm.d
ds"
uses compressed textures which cannot be supported on some systems.
Please decompress this texture for improved portability.


As I said, same output with shader enabled and with shader disabled. It also seems like I'm the only one having this problem, so probably my graphics card does not support the shader.

EDIT: I tried to disable all the other shaders and let only the generic shader on, but my FG keeps crashing when I move the sliders to the left.
The engine is the heart of an aeroplane, but the pilot is its soul.
User avatar
Omega
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 1:46 pm
Callsign: Star,EHAM_CT,MIA0176
IRC name: Omega
Version: GIT
OS: Vista,7,Ubuntu 10.04

Re: Generic Shader

Postby i4dnf » Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:13 am

Getting back on this, can you try with the point lights fix enabled/disabled ?
i4dnf
Retired
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:17 am
Location: LRBS
Callsign: YR-I4D
Version: GIT
OS: Gentoo Linux ~amd64


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests