Board index FlightGear Support Installation Mac

Question: Using Logitech Attack-3 joystick on Mac

Installing FlightGear, scenery, aircraft etc. on Mac.

Question: Using Logitech Attack-3 joystick on Mac

Postby ssjiwa » Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:16 am

Friends,

I just bought a attack-3 joystick to use with a Macbook pro running Lion OS.

Only a few of the buttons work but it would be extraordinary to have buttons for flaps and landing gear as well. I have read some of the tutorials and see that there is an xml file for this joystick in the data folder.

1) Does the program recognize the file to use for this particular joystick or is it using default do you think?
2) Does anyone know how I can use a ready to go file to make this work with all buttons being assigned to the most useful tasks?
3) If there is a revamped file can you please point me in the right direction.

Best wishes.
ssjiwa
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:01 am

Re: Question: Using Logitech Attack-3 joystick on Mac

Postby clrCoda » Thu Sep 22, 2011 5:30 am

Hi ssjiwa,

If you have not made any changes to your data\joysticks.xml then you are most likely using the default joystick definition.


Try this! :)

Open data\joysticks.xml and add this line:

<js n="0" include="Input/Joysticks/Logitech/attack-3.xml"/>

so that the file looks like this (scroll down to see the added line)

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!--
   To override or add "named" joystick drivers list them in
   <js-named> entries with paths relative to the directory where
   the joysticks.xml file resides (first example). Such "named"
   drivers are only picked up if one of their <name>s matches
   the joystick hardware (see output of the js_demo application).
   These drivers have precedence over already existing drivers
   with the same <name>. (You can also add a <name>default</name>
   entry to the driver to make it the default choice.)

   The second example shows how to load a driver directly to
   position 0. This will then be used for the first joystick on
   your system and FlightGear will not overwrite it.
-->

<PropertyList>
<!--
   <js-named include="Input/Joysticks/Local/X45-modified.xml"/>

   <js n="0" include="Input/Joysticks/Local/joystick_0.xml"/>
-->
    <js n="0" include="Input/Joysticks/Logitech/attack-3.xml"/>

</PropertyList>


Fortunately, the attack-3 is defined in the data\Input\Joysticks\Logitech folder.

if you open and read that attack-3.xml in that Logitech folder you can see the assignments.

Much Luck!
Ray :)
Ray "Saint" St. Marie AVA0028/GVA0002 Vice-Chairman. Pilot Resource Officer and Chief Pilot
Atlas has gone GLOBAL!
clrCoda
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:04 am

Re: Question: Using Logitech Attack-3 joystick on Mac

Postby ssjiwa » Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:05 am

Hey Ray.

Thanks for the prompt reply. What I did was use the xml from a modified file and copied it into the joystick.xml and got flaps working.

I will try your method. It seems to me it was using the default joystick.xml
ssjiwa
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:01 am


Return to Mac

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest