Board index FlightGear Support Installation Mac

Install Add-Onn data doesnt work  Topic is solved

Installing FlightGear, scenery, aircraft etc. on Mac.

Install Add-Onn data doesnt work

Postby DutchPilotMitchell » Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:39 pm

Hey guys, I've re-downloaded FG AGAIN because it crashed after three mins. ( I thinks it's becasue bombable). And I've downloaded all the scenery again. But when I want to install them by clicking the install add0on data button and select the scenery/aircraft files is says it's completed but they are installed at multiple destinations. But not in the folders I want them to be. Pretty frustating for the scenery. Anyone?
Proud to be Dutch.
User avatar
DutchPilotMitchell
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:10 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Callsign: mitchel
Version: 22
OS: Mac OS X

Re: Install Add-Onn data doesnt work

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Mon Apr 18, 2011 8:29 am

I have this Problem too.
I just put it in manually and it is easier and it works with the panels but not with objects and so on.
I`ll join to ask this question.
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona

Re: Install Add-Onn data doesnt work

Postby Figaro » Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:05 am

What to do:

Download your desired scenery block. And save it at My Documents.

Go to My Documents in Windows Explorer (or Equivalent) and right click the .zip archive and click extract here.

Three folders will appear, "Airports" "Objects" and "Terrain" select these folders and click "Copy"

Navigate too your $FG_ROOT directory and create a new folder called 'Scenery'

Open this folder and click paste.

Open FGrun, select an aircraft and click next. On the Airport Select screen click Refresh. The computer will think for a bit here, then your installed scenery will appear.

Click next and then run, Enjoy your flight.
Muck around all you want down here, we'll get to business when we're in the cockpit...
Something big is coming.

Aircraft: TB-10, Cessna 414 (from P.A.D.)
User avatar
Figaro
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:23 pm
Callsign: VH-FIG
OS: Win 7

Re: Install Add-Onn data doesnt work

Postby DutchPilotMitchell » Mon Apr 18, 2011 1:08 pm

where exectly do I have to put the folder? in data? There's already a folder like that

And if I want to add more scenery? Because if I place the three folders of another scenery file there, it says if I want to replace something. And I ofcourse don't want that.
Proud to be Dutch.
User avatar
DutchPilotMitchell
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:10 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Callsign: mitchel
Version: 22
OS: Mac OS X

Re: Install Add-Onn data doesnt work

Postby dany93 » Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:47 pm

Under the data folder, you have a Scenery folder, coming with the FG pack, containing itself Airport, Objects, Terrain folders (for San Francisco).
You could add (not replace) the content of your new downloaded folders inside the respective FG folders of the same name (they already contain w130n30 folders, observe them and their content). Your new folders must have the same structure, but contain your new Terrains and Objects files. Their content can be added to (not replace) the existing one.
For clarity, I have preferred creating a new folder (e.g. Scenery-Germany) under the FG data folder, and put my new content (Airports, Objects, Terrain folders) in it. I guess (not sure) that this new Scenery-Germany folder can even be anywhere else, even not in the FlightGear one (to preserve it and make it easier when you update or if you have to reinstall FG).
After that, you have to add the address (exact path) of this new folder in the first page of the Launcher (Add... FG_Scenery, in Windows, I don't know for Mac).

I hope this can help you at least to understand , despite my Windows explanations.

Dany
Last edited by dany93 on Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dany93
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: France (Paris region)
Version: 3.3.0
OS: Linux Mint 16

Re: Install Add-Onn data doesnt work

Postby DutchPilotMitchell » Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:01 pm

Hmmm, ok. Well, there's no adress bar in the 2.0 version (2.2 does have). But I think I'll jsut use terresync then :P
Proud to be Dutch.
User avatar
DutchPilotMitchell
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:10 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Callsign: mitchel
Version: 22
OS: Mac OS X

Re: Install Add-Onn data doesnt work  

Postby DutchPilotMitchell » Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:46 pm

Never mind, it's working now. I had to place it on my desktop in order it to work. I've placed it in others,fg,fg backups,scenery,(scenery file). But when it's on my dekstop it works
Proud to be Dutch.
User avatar
DutchPilotMitchell
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:10 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Callsign: mitchel
Version: 22
OS: Mac OS X

Re: Install Add-Onn data doesnt work

Postby Figaro » Mon Apr 18, 2011 9:34 pm

As I said, you put it in the $FG_ROOT folder. i.e. for windows: C:/Program Files/Flightgear
Muck around all you want down here, we'll get to business when we're in the cockpit...
Something big is coming.

Aircraft: TB-10, Cessna 414 (from P.A.D.)
User avatar
Figaro
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:23 pm
Callsign: VH-FIG
OS: Win 7

Re: Install Add-Onn data doesnt work

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:08 am

He has a mac not an annoying windows.
You go to the Applications folder, right click on fg and select package contents. now go recourses/data/scenery.
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona

Re: Install Add-Onn data doesnt work

Postby Figaro » Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:23 am

What folder do you have FG installed in ? the "root" folder ? it should contain "bin" "data" and the like, make a new folder called scenery.
Muck around all you want down here, we'll get to business when we're in the cockpit...
Something big is coming.

Aircraft: TB-10, Cessna 414 (from P.A.D.)
User avatar
Figaro
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:23 pm
Callsign: VH-FIG
OS: Win 7

Re: Install Add-Onn data doesnt work

Postby DutchPilotMitchell » Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:47 am

Topic solved
Proud to be Dutch.
User avatar
DutchPilotMitchell
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:10 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Callsign: mitchel
Version: 22
OS: Mac OS X

Re: Install Add-Onn data doesnt work

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:08 am

Thats good.
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona


Return to Mac

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest